SOLVED Strange Internet speeds


Joined
Jul 22, 2015
Messages
199
Reaction score
18
This is just puzzling the pea-pick’en heck out of me.

I have an HP All-In-One Desktop computer. Windows 10 Home, version 10.0.19042 Build 19042

x64-based PC

Processor – Intel Core i7-7700T CPU @2.9 GHz

Memory – 12 GB

Sitting on my desk, right next to the above computer, I have an HP laptop. Windows 10 Home, version 10.0.19042 Build 19042

x64-based PC

Processor – Intel Core i7-855OU CPU @1.8 GHz

Memory – 8 GB

Here’s the catcher.

The desktop normally connects to the Internet with a connected LAN line.

The laptop normally connects to the Internet using WiFi connection.

When I run the Internet speed test, using my ISP as source, the Ping is 16 ms for each computer.

The upload speed is the same for both machines – 10 Mbps

But the download speed is completely different.

Desktop ≈ 90 Mbps

Laptop ≈ 228 Mbps

If I disconnect the LAN line from the desktop computer and connect to the WiFi, The down load speed drops to ≈ 30 Mbps. Upload remains at 10 Mbps.

If I connect the LAN line to the laptop, the download speed is ≈ 90Mbps. Upload remains at 10Mbps.

My contract with the ISP is up to 200 Mbps.

I then switched to OOKLA speed test and used an overseas ISP.

Desktop – Download – 90 Mbps Upload 10 Mbps

Laptop – Download – 150 Mbps Upload 10 Mbps

Any suggestions, ideas, clues, solutions?



Thanks for reading

James
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
May 6, 2015
Messages
2,789
Reaction score
480
Is the WiFi in the laptop using 802.11ac on a 5Ghz connection to the router?

Are the Lan and WiFi cards in both machines running the latest drivers?

What is your router?
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2015
Messages
199
Reaction score
18
Yes to both of your questions.
The desktop computer has a choice of LAN line or WiFi. Of course it always chooses the LAN line.
The laptop computer has only the WiFi, WI-Fi 5 (802.11ac), 5 GHz.
Router - Sagecom [email protected] 3686 V18 - IL
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2021
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Did you check to make sure the nic on the desktop isnt hardcoded to 100 mbps for some reason ? All hardwired connections should be set as auto . Also to get a gigabit connection you have to make sure the cable is good as you need all 8 wires to connect at 1 gig other wise it will downgrade the speed which would be 100 mbps .
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jul 22, 2015
Messages
199
Reaction score
18
The cable was installed by the ISP technician so I am assuming it is the correct one. But I did substitute one of my own cables with no positive results.
Now for the nic. I did find a page that showed 100 mbps. If you would please take a peek at it.
James
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2021-01-22 181614.png
    Screenshot 2021-01-22 181614.png
    34.8 KB · Views: 67

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top