Unable to use my scanner with Windows 10

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Support' started by KMH47, Jun 13, 2018.

  1. KMH47

    KMH47

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know what to download and from where to get my scanner working with Windows 10? My scanner is a Canoscan LiDE200 and it wont work since I installed Windows 10.
     
    KMH47, Jun 13, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. KMH47

    Bighorn

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    141
    Bighorn, Jun 13, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. KMH47

    KMH47

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, thankyou for taking the time to advise. Yes, looks like I need a new one!!
     
    KMH47, Jun 13, 2018
    #3
  4. KMH47

    Bighorn

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    141
    You're welcome.
     
    Bighorn, Jun 13, 2018
    #4
  5. KMH47

    Jake B

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    47
    I went to the canon drivers website this is what it said
    Unfortunately your device is no longer supported under the selected operating system. Please feel free to view our current range of available products.




    This product is compatible with the following operating systems -

    • Mac OS X 10.5 (Leopard)
    • Mac OS X 10.6 (Snow Leopard)
    • Mac OS X 10.7 (Lion)
    • OS X 10.10 (Yosemite)
    • OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion)
    • OS X 10.9 (Mavericks)
    • Windows 2000 (32-bit)
    • Windows 7 (32-bit)
    • Windows 7 (64-bit)
    • Windows 8 (32-bit)
    • Windows 8 (64-bit)
    • Windows 8.1 (32-bit)
    • Windows 8.1 (64-bit)
    • Windows Vista (32-bit)
    • Windows Vista (64-bit)
    • Windows XP (32-bit)
    • Windows XP (64-bit)
     
    Jake B, Jun 13, 2018
    #5
  6. KMH47

    Grizzly

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    333
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I have a Canoscan 5600F which is unfortunately discontinued but the 9000F is the successor and costs the same as I have paid for mine (which works with Windows 10) 4 years ago..
     
    Grizzly, Jun 14, 2018
    #6
  7. KMH47

    Tim Locke

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    336
    Location:
    Guelph On
    ALL IS NOT LOST!


    Go to www.hamrick.com and download the appropriate version of Vuescan. This will get a fully functional scanner driver for $40.
     
    Tim Locke, Jun 14, 2018
    #7
  8. KMH47

    Grizzly

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    333
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Grizzly, Jun 14, 2018
    #8
  9. KMH47

    Tim Locke

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    336
    Location:
    Guelph On
    I have used it for a friends ancient Canon scanner on Windows 10. It is not fancy but it works.
     
    Tim Locke, Jun 15, 2018
    #9
  10. KMH47

    Grizzly

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    333
    Location:
    North Carolina
    out of curiosity: does this software come with the drivers??

    Would it not be a better way to get an older device going, by creating drivers for newer systems?? Just my personal opinion. I know there are a lot of devices out there that will not or just minimal work with Windows 10, I have a few myself. Sometimes it works when the driver or software is installed in "Compatibility mode"..
     
    Grizzly, Jun 15, 2018
    #10
  11. KMH47

    Tim Locke

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    336
    Location:
    Guelph On
    Vuescan uses the standard scanner protocol over USB. Twain. Therefore as long as there are USB drivers on the PC, to actually drive the port, it will work. No low level drivers required. I am sure there are cases where it will not but I am pretty sure that Canon scanner s and ancient HP scanners do.
     
    Tim Locke, Jun 15, 2018
    #11
  12. KMH47

    Bighorn

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    141
    Yes. BUT, regardless of some calling it planned obsolescence, the issue appears to be that once a product is no longer produced or sold there is no money coming in to pay the programmers to keep the software up-to-date and compatible with the more frequent changes of operating systems, companies would have to take resources away from newer products.
     
    Bighorn, Jun 15, 2018
    #12
  13. KMH47

    Comp Cmndo

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    36
    I've been using Hamrick's Vuescan since Windows 7. My Acer scanner is 20 years old. It works with just about every known scanner with a USB interface. It is the driver software & works with all software that "acquires scanner". You can try before you buy. The pro license costs more but never expires.
    https://www.hamrick.com/
     
    Comp Cmndo, Jun 15, 2018
    #13
    Tim Locke likes this.
  14. KMH47

    Tim Locke

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    336
    Location:
    Guelph On
    Why are we arguing about this? Vuescan is not perfect but like Buckleys cough mixture...it just works.
     
    Tim Locke, Jun 15, 2018
    #14
  15. KMH47

    Bighorn

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    141
    IF there's any possibility of the scanner working in Win10 it should show up in Start, W, Windows Accessories, Windows Fax and Scan, usually wants a TWAIN driver.
     
    Bighorn, Jun 16, 2018
    #15
  16. KMH47

    Tim Locke

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    336
    Location:
    Guelph On
    I think a more accurate statement would be: If there is any possibility of Windows 10 being able to deal with a scanner itself it would show up as you say.
     
    Tim Locke, Jun 16, 2018
    #16
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.