Unable to use my scanner with Windows 10


Joined
Jun 13, 2018
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Does anyone know what to download and from where to get my scanner working with Windows 10? My scanner is a Canoscan LiDE200 and it wont work since I installed Windows 10.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 13, 2018
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Oh, thankyou for taking the time to advise. Yes, looks like I need a new one!!
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2015
Messages
343
Reaction score
48
I went to the canon drivers website this is what it said
Unfortunately your device is no longer supported under the selected operating system. Please feel free to view our current range of available products.




This product is compatible with the following operating systems -

  • Mac OS X 10.5 (Leopard)
  • Mac OS X 10.6 (Snow Leopard)
  • Mac OS X 10.7 (Lion)
  • OS X 10.10 (Yosemite)
  • OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion)
  • OS X 10.9 (Mavericks)
  • Windows 2000 (32-bit)
  • Windows 7 (32-bit)
  • Windows 7 (64-bit)
  • Windows 8 (32-bit)
  • Windows 8 (64-bit)
  • Windows 8.1 (32-bit)
  • Windows 8.1 (64-bit)
  • Windows Vista (32-bit)
  • Windows Vista (64-bit)
  • Windows XP (32-bit)
  • Windows XP (64-bit)
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
1,453
Reaction score
383
I have a Canoscan 5600F which is unfortunately discontinued but the 9000F is the successor and costs the same as I have paid for mine (which works with Windows 10) 4 years ago..
 
Joined
May 6, 2015
Messages
2,365
Reaction score
364
ALL IS NOT LOST!


Go to www.hamrick.com and download the appropriate version of Vuescan. This will get a fully functional scanner driver for $40.
 
Joined
May 6, 2015
Messages
2,365
Reaction score
364
I have used it for a friends ancient Canon scanner on Windows 10. It is not fancy but it works.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
1,453
Reaction score
383
out of curiosity: does this software come with the drivers??

Would it not be a better way to get an older device going, by creating drivers for newer systems?? Just my personal opinion. I know there are a lot of devices out there that will not or just minimal work with Windows 10, I have a few myself. Sometimes it works when the driver or software is installed in "Compatibility mode"..
 
Joined
May 6, 2015
Messages
2,365
Reaction score
364
Vuescan uses the standard scanner protocol over USB. Twain. Therefore as long as there are USB drivers on the PC, to actually drive the port, it will work. No low level drivers required. I am sure there are cases where it will not but I am pretty sure that Canon scanner s and ancient HP scanners do.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
1,249
Reaction score
204
Would it not be a better way to get an older device going, by creating drivers for newer systems??
Yes. BUT, regardless of some calling it planned obsolescence, the issue appears to be that once a product is no longer produced or sold there is no money coming in to pay the programmers to keep the software up-to-date and compatible with the more frequent changes of operating systems, companies would have to take resources away from newer products.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2016
Messages
303
Reaction score
39
out of curiosity: does this software come with the drivers??....
I've been using Hamrick's Vuescan since Windows 7. My Acer scanner is 20 years old. It works with just about every known scanner with a USB interface. It is the driver software & works with all software that "acquires scanner". You can try before you buy. The pro license costs more but never expires.
https://www.hamrick.com/
 
Joined
May 6, 2015
Messages
2,365
Reaction score
364
Why are we arguing about this? Vuescan is not perfect but like Buckleys cough mixture...it just works.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
1,249
Reaction score
204
IF there's any possibility of the scanner working in Win10 it should show up in Start, W, Windows Accessories, Windows Fax and Scan, usually wants a TWAIN driver.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
May 6, 2015
Messages
2,365
Reaction score
364
I think a more accurate statement would be: If there is any possibility of Windows 10 being able to deal with a scanner itself it would show up as you say.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Similar Threads


Top