SOLVED when booting up from cold boot windows 10 is not mounting the shares assigned to from my WD MyCloud


Joined
Jul 12, 2016
Messages
127
Reaction score
14
when booting up from cold boot windows 10 is not mounting the shares assigned to it from my WD MyCloud NAS.
My Nas have a fixed IP in my router, and all cables are Cat7 network cables.
When I reboot my computer, everything is OK and working. Is there a solution to this problem, that windows is not mounting shares under boot up. HD is a 1tb SSHD.
 

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
12,271
Reaction score
1,971
Hello and welcome to the forum.
Have you considered experimenting with "fast startup"? Perhaps toggling it on or off and then back on might help.
Right click the start button and choose Power Options from the context menu.
In the left column click "Choose what the power buttons do"

FastStartUp.jpg
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jul 12, 2016
Messages
127
Reaction score
14
Hello and welcome to the forum.
Have you considered experimenting with "fast startup"? Perhaps toggling it on or off and then back on might help.
Right click the start button and choose Power Options from the context menu.
In the left column click "Choose what the power buttons do"

View attachment 3439
Thank you for your reply. It has helped. If I turn of quick boot, the network on my wired pc got activated before windows mount the shared. and I do not get the message. I though have to let it remain turned of, but never mind I can start my computer and then while it is booting prepare my breakfast :) thank again for this advice.
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2016
Messages
127
Reaction score
14
the new Windows 10 Anniversary have not solved this issue with not mounting shares on my network NAS. Had hoped that the fast boot could be used again.
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2016
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Hi, have you tried the "NET USE" command? I've wrapped this into a batch file and put its shortcut in the Windows "Startup" folder (normally C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp). You can, of course, use other methods to run the batch file at start up. I've listed the code in my blog article at http://www.metalvortex.com/blog/2016/07/24/1903.html but I've copied the code here too if you want to use it. The code is meant to be visible and interactive. You may wish to set the "loopvalue" to a higher number. I find that the command may need to loop about 7 times in the worst case. Please change the share location to suit your environment!

@ECHO OFF
TITLE Mapping network drives
@ECHO Please wait whilst we reconnect your network drives.
SETLOCAL ENABLEEXTENSIONS
SET me=%~n0
SET parent=%~dp0

SET neterror=0

SET counter=1
SET loopvalue=11
SET /A trueloop=%loopvalue%-1
:Start
ECHO _____________________________________
ECHO(
IF %counter% EQU %loopvalue% (
ECHO Connection to D:\ drive timed-out
SET neterror=1
GOTO End
)
ECHO Attempt %counter% of %trueloop% to D:\ drive
TIMEOUT /t 5 /NOBREAK >NUL
IF EXIST D:\NUL (
ECHO Attempt %counter% successful.
GOTO End
)
NET USE D: \\192.168.49.69\Data /PERSISTENT:YES
IF %ERRORLEVEL% NEQ 0 (
SET /A counter=%counter%+1
GOTO Start
)
:End

SET counter=1
SET loopvalue=8
SET /A trueloop=%loopvalue%-1

IF %neterror% EQU 0 GOTO Endofscript

:userconfirm
ECHO _____________________________________
ECHO(
SET /P userinput="Errors were found. Do you wish to try again [Y/n] "
IF /I "%userinput%" EQU "y" GOTO Start
IF /I "%userinput%" EQU "" GOTO Start
IF /I "%userinput%" EQU "n" GOTO Endofscript
GOTO userconfirm

:Endofscript
ECHO _____________________________________
ECHO(
@ECHO Please wait, script is closing.
TIMEOUT /t 5 /NOBREAK >NUL
ENDLOCAL
@ECHO OFF
@EXIT /B 0
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jul 12, 2016
Messages
127
Reaction score
14
in my case I just disabled fastboot, and it works for me. But thank you for the answer.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top