SOLVED When taking a picture by pressing Alt-print-screen on the keyboard, I cannot find the screenshot

Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
205
Reaction score
19
I recently reset my spare Windows 10 laptop as it started running inefficiently. I still had a screenshots folder left on the drive. However, when I press Alt print screen, the screenshot is not going into that folder, and I don’t know where to look to find it. Any ideas on this? Thanks.

HB
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
6,286
Reaction score
1,269
It is stored in memory.
Open a graphics program and select "paste"
- Or you can paste it, for example, into email or your word processor.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
205
Reaction score
19
It is stored in memory.
Open a graphics program and select "paste"
- Or you can paste it, for example, into email or your word proces
Ah! Thank you, Dave, you were right! I pasted it into an open Microsoft Word document and there it was. However, what do I need to do so that it goes directly into my screenshots folder where I really want it? That’s what happens in my other laptop when I take a screenshot. Thanks.



HB

Ah! Thank you, Dave; you were right! I pasted it into an open Microsoft Word document, and there it was. However, what do I need to do so that it goes directly into my screenshots folder where I really want it? That’s what happens on my other laptop when I take a screenshot. Thanks.

HB
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
6,286
Reaction score
1,269
They go automatically to here.
C:\Users\Username\Pictures\Screenshots

But uyou can browse and change the save location to whatever.. It will be remembered next time you snip
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
205
Reaction score
19
Hi Dave,

I changed the folder location to where I wanted my screenshots to go. I was also asked whether I wanted the existing screenshots to go into that folder, and I clicked yes. I checked the new location, and sure enough, the existing screenshots were there. However, when I chose a random image and pressed Alt-Print-Screen, I could not find the screenshot in the new location anywhere. However, it will still paste into Microsoft Word. Why are they not going into my allocated screenshots folder where I want them? Thanks.

HB
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
205
Reaction score
19
Hi Bighorn,

Yes, I’ve found that to be the case on this revamped Windows 10 laptop. I can paste it into a Word document and save it anywhere then. However, on my other laptop, when on an image and I press Alt-print-screen, the image automatically goes into my screenshots folder. That is what I was hoping to do with this laptop. If I can do that on my other laptop, (also Win 10), surely I can achieve it on my revamped laptop. I just need to know how? Thanks.

HB
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
205
Reaction score
19
Edit: yes, I paste it into Microsoft Paint and save it as a JPEG to anywhere I want. However, why does it immediately go into a specified folder on my other laptop when I say Alt-Print-Screen?

HB
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
3,439
Reaction score
614
This is what is available on my Win10 Pro when putting Clipboard in the Search box on the Taskbar:

1690817427929.png


Is a third-party program that allows the saving installed on the machine with the Screenshots folder?
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
205
Reaction score
19
I don’t think I have a third-party program that does this on my other laptop. I will have to check when I get it back from its repairs. The view you have shown is the same as mine below, except I have the clipboard history toggle off.

Untitled.png
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
6,286
Reaction score
1,269
Sorry I cannot offer more help. I havent used windows 10 for a while and can only offer from memory. Either way, I have always used the snipping tool together with its shortcut (prntscrn). I am not sure of the mechanics of your key combination.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
205
Reaction score
19
Hey Dave, you and Bighorn have been extremely helpful. I at least now know how to generate a screenshot and place it in the folder of my choice. Thanks for all your help, guys.

I have posted another question in here that I haven’t had an answer to yet; any ideas on that one, guys?

HB
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
3,439
Reaction score
614
I have 2013 but haven't needed to set up Outlook as I use Webmail, can't replicate the issue.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
205
Reaction score
19
I have just fixed it. Perhaps you gave me good luck, Bighorn! Should I lay it out on how I fixed it or just leave it?

HB
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
3,439
Reaction score
614
Since it's a different subject from this post I'd put it as a Reply in your original question about Outlook.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
205
Reaction score
19
Yes, that is what I meant. Do you think it will help others? Do many people ask about Outlook here?

HB
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top