Windows 10 backup issue


Joined
Dec 13, 2017
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
I keep getting an error when running Windows 10 Backup. Using the recommended Windows backup. Get an error that says it skipped files and those skipped files are my dvd drive. There is no disc in it. Why in the world is it trying to backup my dvd drive and then telling me its an invalid drive? I check the setting and that drive is NOT checked/added to the backup.
 

Bif

Joined
Oct 17, 2015
Messages
1,164
Reaction score
440
You might have some temp files that are leftover from burning something to DVD or cd..this may be what it see's but can't back up as there isn't anything there..
Try the following and see if that solves it..and let us know
Look in the folder C:\Users\username\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Burn\Temporary Burn Folder. Are there files located in here? If so, I believe your problem will go away if you delete them.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Bif

Joined
Oct 17, 2015
Messages
1,164
Reaction score
440
Hmm...I'm not sure then what might be causing it, 9 out of 10 times it's that temp folder that causes issues.
Gotta think on this one..
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2017
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
I'm not sure if this works or not as its running now but I have tried EXCLUDING that drive. The 1st time I tried it I don't think it worked. But the 2nd time it might have. Running it a 3rd time just to see.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2016
Messages
2,826
Reaction score
622
Is the back new, or a differential/incremental back up?
If it's a differential bk up, I think the original bk up you created must have been directed (short cut) to a a file that was located on a CD that was in the caddy. It will require insertion of that CD. If you have excluded the CD the bk up should be fine.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Dec 13, 2017
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Yes, I've used Disc Cleanup many times and I have NEVER tried to backup the CD/DVD drive. By the way, under Disc Cleanup, the CD/DVD is not an option. I am not sure but I think I found a work around. Under Backup Options I excluded the DVD drive and I think it worked without errors.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top