SOLVED Windows 10 Freezes

Reaction score
I seem to be incurring an increasing number of occurences of my system Freezing.
Nothing appears to be effective
Does NOT respond to CNRL alt Delete
Only solution to power ON/OFF hard reboot.

I have been using Windows 10 for 6 months plus
I have recently replaced the hard disk with a 240gb SSD about 3 weeks ago - (great improvement)
I have recently incurred "NTLDR is missing" and would NOT Boot
Overcame this problem using a bootable CD/DVD (created using AOMEI - when I upgraded to SSD)

Not sure what to do to prevent this problem occurring.

Any suggestions appreciated

Last edited:

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Reaction score
I seem to be incurring an increasing number of occurences of my system Freezing.
Nothing appears to be effective
Does NOT respond to CNRL alt Delete
Only solution to power ON/OFF hard reboot.
To possibly address this part of your problem, I would suggest you....
Try clean booting the system and see if that produces any relief. Run it like that for a day or two and check Windows Update manually in the interim to make sure everything is up to date.
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/929135
Use the steps for Windows 8 / 8.1 (same for Windows 10)
Easily done and easily undone.
You're basically just disabling all Startup Items and all non-Microsoft services. Do no mess with the Microsoft services. Be sure to check the box to hide them before proceeding.
I have recently replaced the hard disk with a 240gb SSD about 3 weeks ago - (great improvement)
I have recently incurred "NTLDR is missing" and would NOT Boot
ntldr is not a file used anymore to boot a Windows Operating System. Not since Windows XP.
Do you have a second drive in the system with an active partition and XP installed?
Did at some point you have XP installed on the drive that now contains your Windows 10 Operating System?
Are you dual booting the computer?

Reaction score