Windows 10 update

Reaction score
Hi I'm new to the forum and have a question have just got a dell latitude 6400 with windows 7 professional and would like to upgrade to windows 10. Have the windows 10 icon at the bottom of the screen but when I open this it just tells me it will inform me when windows 10 is ready to download. Been a couple of weeks now. Also are there any problems if I do upgrade, thanking you for your time nick

Reaction score
I'm just a novice at this but here's a hint about what I learned the hard way. Be very particular about keeping track of Product Keys which are 25 digit numbers on the back of the computer case or elsewhere in packaging.

I updated a Dell from 8.1 to 10 with no problem because it was starting from an approved source.
But going from 7 pro to 10 on another laptop I ran into problems getting 10 activated because I didn't keep track of a relevant product key. I wound up purchasing one from Microsoft and in hindsight that could have been avoided if I had been smarter.

If you have the GWX icon on taskbar that's a great start, Someone else on the forum can chime in with a link for download, Most of them are better informed than me.

Reaction score
If you are referring to the operating systems 25 digit serial number (product key), it is listed in the Speccy utility so is very easy to find. The Windows 10 Operating Systems 20 digit product ID is listed in Windows 10 {Settings/System/About). Speccy fails to list the Product ID.

An interesting feature of Speccy is it's Search feature. For example click View/Find and type in Serial Number and Serial Number is highlighted so it is easy to find.

Belarc has both of these keys listed.

Clifford Cooley points out however, that Speccy does not always list the correct number so Speccy is useless in this regard.

Capture.PNG

Last edited:
Reaction score
The Windows 10 Operating Systems 20 digit Product key is listed in Windows 10 {Settings/System/About).