"Windows Can't connect to group policy client"


Joined
Jul 5, 2016
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Good day.

I need some help with my computer. I've been having this problem for some time now and i can't seem to solve it.

I have tried everything to fix this but nothing. I have gone through all the settings in trying to check if all the registry settings are right and it is all there.

I checked in the services.msc and the group policy client is running and then it stops or some times does not run at all. this prohibits me from opening some apps on my computer especially if they are online related apps.

Attached is a screen shot of my registry and my services, I have notices a extra value in the registry there but not sure if it should be there or not.

Please if anyone can help me on this one.

Thanks

John Klonaridis
 

Attachments

Ad

Advertisements

Joined
May 25, 2015
Messages
120
Reaction score
19
my registry shows exactly the same as yours (see attached)
my services shows Group Policy Client as Running (see attached)

try right clicking your Group Policy Client, Properties,


in General Tab, Path to executable is C:\Windows\System32\svchost.exe (see attached)
start/stop etc are greyed out (unable to use)
in Log On Tab, Local System Account is selected (all others blank)
in Recovery Tab, settings are default
in Dependencies Tab, I show :
This service depends on the following system components :
DCOM Server Process Launcher & RPC Endpoint Mapper
(both are running - Automatic)

Registry netsvcs.jpg Group Policy Client.jpg SVChost Details.jpg
 

Regedit32

Moderator
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
3,620
Reaction score
1,124
Both those screen captures are normal and the default settings for Windows 10.

Can you right-click on Start then left-click on Command Prompt

At the prompt type or copy & paste the following command:

Code:
reg query "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\SvcHost" /v netsvcs
After pressing Enter key to execute the above command, post a screen capture of your results please.

Sample image of expected result:

reg sample.png
 
Joined
May 25, 2015
Messages
120
Reaction score
19
your first post screenshot (2) shows your Group Policy Client as 'Not Running'

in your post with Screenshot 9 Group Policy Client properties (Local Computer)
Tab Dependencies, if you expand the + Remote Procedure call(RPC) [See Attached Group Policy Client Expanded]

check that yours shows :
Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
DCOM Server Process Launcher
RPC Endpoint Mapper
and that all three show as Running - Automatic in your services

the Remote Procedure Call (RPC) is dependant on DCOM Server Process Launcher [See Attached DCOM Server Dependencies]

the Group Policy Client is dependent on RPC Endpoint Mapper running [See Attached RPC Endpoint Mapper]
the Group Policy Client should show as Running - Automatic (Trigger Start) in your services

Group Policy Client Expanded.jpg DCOM Server Dependencies.jpg RPC Endpoint Mapper.jpg
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 1, 2014
Messages
2,334
Reaction score
358
What are you trying to do exactly when that message pops up? What version of Win 10 are you running, Pro or Home?
 

Regedit32

Moderator
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
3,620
Reaction score
1,124
OK that is good. Your netsvcs is listing the gpsvc in yout screen shot.

The next thing to check is that your Registry contains the gpsvc sub-key and more importantly that its ImagePath points correctly to the netsvcs.
  • Right-click on Start
  • Left-click on Command Prompt
  • At the prompt type or copy & paste the following command:

    Code:
    reg query "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\gpsvc" /v ImagePath
    Press Enter key to execute the command.

    Sample image of what you ought to see:

    sample.png

Report back on your results or post a screen capture of the result please.

Regedit32
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jul 5, 2016
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
@Saltgrass

I am using windows 10 home.

my computer originally come with windows 8.1, but i decided to do the free windows 10 update because some of my programs did not work on win 8.1 and since then i have been having this problem.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top