Windows Live Mail problems since upgrading to Windows 10

Reaction score
Hi,
Hopefully someone can help me as I now find e-mail so frustrating. After installing windows 10 and then checking my e-mails I have the following error come up:

Unable to send or receive messages for the Ntlworld (kinitch1) account. An unknown error has occurred.

Server: 'pop3.ntlworld.com'
Windows Live Mail Error ID: 0x800C013E
Protocol: POP3
Port: 995
Secure(SSL): Yes

I have had to utilise the windows 10 e-mail function to which I find absolutely awful - nowhere to create folders, unresponsive, only stores emails for so long etc etc.

I have noted that I am able to send e-mails via WLM but just not receive. IS there anyone out there can help and please note I am a novice on computers.

Thanks in advance

A

Reaction score
have you tried using IMAP instead of POP3 ?

Manual configuration settings for email

Type of information Settings to enter

Sending mail (SMTP)

SMTP server name smtp.ntlworld.com

SMTP SSL Enabled

SMTP port 465

SMTP authentication Enabled

SMTP username Full email address, e.g., (e-mail address removed)

Receiving mail (IMAP4)

IMAP4 server name imap.ntlworld.com

IMAP4 SSL Enabled

IMAP4 port 993

IMAP4 authentication Enabled

IMAP4 username Full email address, e.g., (e-mail address removed)

IMAP4 SPA (Secure Password Authentication) Disabled

Reaction score
Hi,
Hopefully someone can help me as I now find e-mail so frustrating. After installing windows 10 and then checking my e-mails I have the following error come up:

Unable to send or receive messages for the Ntlworld (kinitch1) account. An unknown error has occurred.

Server: 'pop3.ntlworld.com'
Windows Live Mail Error ID: 0x800C013E
Protocol: POP3
Port: 995
Secure(SSL): Yes

I have had to utilise the windows 10 e-mail function to which I find absolutely awful - nowhere to create folders, unresponsive, only stores emails for so long etc etc.