Windows Update made several things not function in new PC with W10 Pro

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Support' started by 52Yankee, Dec 1, 2018.

  1. 52Yankee

    52Yankee

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    I purchased a new Dell 8930 XPS tower in October. Everything worked well on very first boot and normal setup stuff. On October 23, 2018 several Windows Updates took place and that is when the weird things started to happen. KB4462919 and KB4100347 were successfully applied that day. The restart after the updates produced two problems. The Dell Logo screen no longer shows the f2 Setup or F12 Boot list and when Windows finished booting a pop up showed up indicating that the Killer Command Center needed to be updated but no option to do the update was available. I could not get rid of the pop up. There is no program to click on to look for how to do updates. Google hits indicated it was a known problem caused by the Windows Updates and that I should download their uninstall and run it. The uninstall ran but did not get rid of everything. Windows keeps updating drivers for whatever the Killer app does. I have worked with Dell to try to get the F2/F12 to show back up and discovered that if I strike any key before the Windows circle of dots shows up they do show up and they do work. Dell wants to replace the motherboard but I don't believe it is hardware associated. I am also working with Trend Micro helping them get information concerning a lockup that happens with their product. In that process they had me place the pc into Legacy mode with Secure boot off. Low and behold booting in this mode makes the f2/f12 show up but the screen resolution is different.
    The specs for the pc are:
    Dell 8930 XPS
    8th Generation Intel Core I7-8700 6 core 12m cache
    8gb DDr4
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050TI 4gb Gddr5
    256GB M.2 PCIe x4 SSD
    2tb 7200 rpm hard drive
    Windows 10 Pro

    I would like to see if anybody else has come across the F2/F12 issue and what to do about the Killer stuff.
     
    52Yankee, Dec 1, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. 52Yankee

    dustywoodworker

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Arizona
    I have a new XPS8930 and I believe I too experience the same F2/F12 issue. I resolved mine by changing which ports I was using to attach the monitor(s). I have two. I had been using the Display port and the HDMI. I now have my main monitor connected to the HDVI port on the video card.

    I concluded that I need the NiVidia card to see (use) F2/F12.
     
    dustywoodworker, Dec 2, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. 52Yankee

    davehc

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4,036
    Likes Received:
    773
    Location:
    Denmark
    "In that process they had me place the pc into Legacy mode with Secure boot off. Low and behold booting in this mode makes the f2/f12 show up"

    I do not use the secure boot mode, But I have an idea that this would be normal behaviour. Perhaps someone using the secure boot, and a dell, can advise

    But which resolution is changed -the boot screen or your desktop?
     
    davehc, Dec 2, 2018
    #3
  4. 52Yankee

    Saltgrass

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,837
    Likes Received:
    257
    Exactly what does the message say? I used to see one regarding entering your actual Internet speed from the ISP but that did not turn out well.

    The F1/F2 option should not have been anything related to Windows update. None of my 5 systems have done that with any Windows updates, so I would look more at Trend Micro. Especially, if it involves itself with the initial boot phase such as searching for a Root Kit.

    But, as dustywoodworker mentions, certain outputs normally have a priority as to which monitors they are connected. The Bios of the Video card has to be Secure Boot capable and yours, of course should be.

    If you have any sound problems, such as static when using it, check if you have SmartBytes installed. It may show up as a Dell optional update or have been installed as part of the Killer Wireless install.
     
    Saltgrass, Dec 2, 2018
    #4
  5. 52Yankee

    52Yankee

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you for the information about DVI. The monitor I have hooked up for now does not have a DVI port but it is not the one I will use with the new PC. The resolution that changes is the boot screen.
     
    52Yankee, Dec 2, 2018
    #5
  6. 52Yankee

    52Yankee

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    The reason I mentioned Windows Updates as the source of the F2/F12 thing is that like I mentioned earlier the problem showed up AFTER the windows updates. I'll bet I need to use the DVI port on the graphics card like the other person mentioned. As far as the Killer Update problem is concerned that message also came up AFTER the restart for Windows Update. The message only indicated that an update was needed for Killer Command Center but offered no place to click on update. When I click on the Windows close X the message pop up comes right back. I did chase through Google hits and downloaded and ran the uninstall and no longer have the message pop up. The only hardware I have with the Killer name on it is the Ethernet adapter. Updates for drivers from Rivet also were done on 10/23/2018 and 10/24/2018. My Wi-Fi adapter is from Qualcom. I wonder why I need the Killer Command Center anyway. I am not a gamer.
     
    52Yankee, Dec 2, 2018
    #6
  7. 52Yankee

    Saltgrass

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,837
    Likes Received:
    257
    You really do not need it but it is cool to be able to see all the wireless signals in your area. If it will not update with the Dell Killer Wi-Fi drivers, check the link below. As long as the pop up is not asking you to enter the ISP speeds I suppose it is actually referring to the entire suite.

    https://www.killernetworking.com/killersupport/driver-downloads
     
    Saltgrass, Dec 2, 2018
    #7
  8. 52Yankee

    Saltgrass

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,837
    Likes Received:
    257
    I just went to the site linked and downloaded the latest version of the suite which states it is for Windows builds 1803 and later. The original download took care of the drivers for the Killer Wireless and then I was sent to the Microsoft store to download the Control Center.

    Killer and Qualcomm have some type of agreement or one is now controlling the other, I don't remember.
     
    Saltgrass, Dec 2, 2018
    #8
  9. 52Yankee

    dustywoodworker

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Arizona
    I'm confused. I have something that came with Windows 10 ("Killer Control Center") but it doesn't seem to do anything and there is a notation on the page that states "No Killer Network Interfaces Connected".

    Does this mean, I don't need it OR don't want it?

    What does Killer do for the user that has it loaded. It looks like something for Gamers. If that is the case -- I don't need it.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2018
    dustywoodworker, Dec 2, 2018
    #9
  10. 52Yankee

    Garyw

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Florida
    AFIK, secure boot bypasses access to the bios and boot menus on most systems. After all, if the user has access to the bios and boot functions its not a secure boot!
     
    Garyw, Dec 3, 2018
    #10
  11. 52Yankee

    Saltgrass

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,837
    Likes Received:
    257
    I does probably need a Killer Wireless card .. This is one thing it does showing a wireless network map and signal strengths.

    KW_WiFi.JPG
     
    Saltgrass, Dec 3, 2018
    #11
  12. 52Yankee

    Saltgrass

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,837
    Likes Received:
    257
    The only thing that would keep the user out of the Bios is a Bios Password. Secure boot is not related to the Bios access.
     
    Saltgrass, Dec 3, 2018
    #12
  13. 52Yankee

    52Yankee

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    The only reason I had secure boot off was for Trend Micro to make changes to several of their system services as they go about trying to solve their huge performance problem on this pc. I have a total UEFI pc and that is they way it is except for the Trend Micro thing. I just noticed that when in Legacy mode the F2/F12 keys show up when they are supposed to.
     
    52Yankee, Dec 3, 2018
    #13
  14. 52Yankee

    dustywoodworker

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Arizona
    Are you saying that Trend Micro contributes to the fact that F2/F12 are (were) inaccessible. I ask because I have always been a Trend Micro user and I now have normal access to the BIOS. I changed my monitor configuration. That's a different thread.
     
    dustywoodworker, Dec 3, 2018
    #14
  15. 52Yankee

    52Yankee

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    No. The Trend Micro problem has noting to do with F2/F12 not showing up in native UEFI mode. Their problem is related to consuming 100% of the C drive such that nothing else can happen. They ask me to put the pc into Legacy mode so they can change root stuff without problems. That's when I notice that in Legacy mode the F2/F12 show up. Trend Micro is not saying where their problem is just that it is related to Windows 10 compatibility. That's strange because I have two other Windows 10 Pro images with Trend Micro and don't have the problem.
     
    52Yankee, Dec 4, 2018
    #15
  16. 52Yankee

    52Yankee

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Here I am back again after a long while. Dell has given up on trying to find out why the progress bar and F2/F12 don't show up at boot unless I strike any key and they finally realized it has nothing to do with the mother board or their desire to swap it out. Does any one know what code is responsible for displaying the progress bar and F2/F12 underneath the Dell logo in a UEFI Secure boot pc? Dell says that this is the way UEFI Secure Boot is supposed to work. Really?
     
    52Yankee, Jan 11, 2019
    #16
  17. 52Yankee

    Saltgrass

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,837
    Likes Received:
    257
    I just started my system from a powered down condition. All I saw was the Dell logo then the lock screen. No F key options or spinning dots.

    Have you tried enabling or disabling the Fast Startup option.

    There is also a firmware entry in the Device Manager which updates with new builds.
     
    Saltgrass, Jan 11, 2019
    #17
  18. 52Yankee

    52Yankee

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Fast Startup is disabled
    The firmware entry has a date of 2006.
     
    52Yankee, Jan 11, 2019
    #18
  19. 52Yankee

    52Yankee

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Fast Startup is off
    The firmware entry has a driver date of 2006
     
    52Yankee, Jan 11, 2019
    #19
  20. 52Yankee

    Saltgrass

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,837
    Likes Received:
    257
    The firmware should show the current build, such as 10.0.17763.1
     
    Saltgrass, Jan 11, 2019
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.