Buffering problem

Reaction score
Hi Newbie here, Have my computer hooked to my LG TV via HDMI cable. When I watch a movie it keeps stopping every so often because the buffer cannot keep up with the movie. Any suggestions?? Am using a Linksys N router with an HP All in One 23-Q129 computer. Thanks a lot.

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Reaction score
Does the same thing happen when you watch the same movie from the same source on the computer, without involving the TV??

Reaction score
Are you streaming the movie? From Netflix or somewhere like that?

The spec of the machine looks plenty fast if the movie is on a DVD. Is it ok if you play a movie from DVD?

Reaction score
Does the same thing happen when you watch the same movie from the same source on the computer, without involving the TV??
Thanks for the quick response. To answer your question, yes it does so does this mean my router is not fast enough or ??

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Reaction score
To answer your question, yes it does so does this mean my router is not fast enough or ??
It could mean any number of things.
Do you have a means of connecting the PC to the router using an RJ45 Ethernet cable? Just to take wireless out of the equation temporarily.

Reaction score
How fast is your internet connection...how fast does your ISP claim to be and what answer do you get if you run a speed test like www.speedtest.net at the same time of day when you usually stream movies?

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Reaction score
If you are using any third party security suite, especially one with a firewall component with SPI enabled you might try completely uninstalling it and see if that helps the buffering.
Since the file is coming to you over the network it's possible that Stateful Packet Inspection could be slowing things down and well as an overzealous antivirus product checking the file and slowing things down.

Reaction score