SOLVED Failed resetting my laptop to factory default

Reaction score
Guys, i am new here. And what brought me here is i need your expert assistance. I have an acer laptop and tried "resetting" my windows 10 and delete all files so I can have a fresh start.

I am not an expert but definitely not a beginner when it comes to windows. I followed each step before initiating the "reset". After more or less 4 hours of waiting.. It did not install successfully.

What to do? I do not have an installer with me. I bought the laptop with an original windows 10 already.

What to do?

Thanks in advance.

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Reaction score
Hello and welcome to the forum.
IF the computer came with Windows 10 pre-installed, that might suggest that the system might have a factory partition that you can use to restore the system to the OOBE state it was in when you first purchased it, assuming that it came from the factory with Windows 10 and you didn't purchase it second hand and it had been updated to Windows 10 by the previous owner.
OR
Assuming that you have a second system that you can use to acquire the installation media.....
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/techbench
Choose Windows 10, the first item in the first drop down (not single language at the bottom)
Next choose your language and your bit version (32 or 64 bit to match your system architecture or in the case of an upgrade, to match your currently installed version of Windows).
That will provide an ISO that will upgrade, repair (or clean install) either or both Windows 10 Pro and Home.
Once you have downloaded the ISO you can use ImgBurn to burn it to a DVD http://imgburn.com/index.php?act=download
OR
Rufus to burn it to a USB ThumbDrive http://rufus.akeo.ie/
Once you've managed to create the installation media from the ISO, you should be able to boot from that and perform a custom clean install, which should provide the
so I can have a fresh start.
IF that is your goal.

Reaction score