SOLVED Firefox Ram Hungry


Bif

Joined
Oct 17, 2015
Messages
1,172
Reaction score
454
Anyone else out there noticing extremely high RAM usage by Firefox Quantum?...it's often been maxing out RAM and CPU for no apparent reason..the fan runs on high for minutes at a time while doing nothing and then once I open Task Manager to take a gander.. the fan cycles down and bobs your uncle.
Makes little sense.
Capture 2.JPG
Capture.JPG
 
Ad

Advertisements

Bif

Joined
Oct 17, 2015
Messages
1,172
Reaction score
454
I know it's a long running issue with FF, I'm just so damn used to using it with all it's eccentricities ..the massive spikes in usage are what still to this day baffle me while using FF. Maybe I'll disable the scant few extensions I have installed and see if that helps.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2016
Messages
2,839
Reaction score
631
Personally I believe it's the best browser.
I just have uBlock running. Remember curiosity kills the PC
 

Bif

Joined
Oct 17, 2015
Messages
1,172
Reaction score
454
Remember curiosity kills the PC
I'll just crank the Andy Williams Christmas CD, pour a tall rum and nog and worry not!..
And I agree, it is the best browser by far...even though............
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2016
Messages
2,839
Reaction score
631
Windows will take care of your RAM management. RAM is installed for to be used. Unused RAM is wasted Ram.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
5,478
Reaction score
684
HI all,

it is a thing called "web content" in Linux (no description provided in the Windows version afaik?), it causes the same problem in all Linux versions and I think it is related to mostly media playback but I'm not sure?. here's mine with Sky News live running. ;)

task manager.PNG
 
Ad

Advertisements

Bif

Joined
Oct 17, 2015
Messages
1,172
Reaction score
454
Thanks @Wolfie, I still stand behind FF although Quantum appears to have a lot more running in the background..for like you had mentioned likely having to do with media playback.
Cheers for the comparison!...a least I'm not alone which eases my concerns;)
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top