I have attempted an In-Place Upgrade to W10 from W7 five times without any success.

Reaction score
I tried on a PC that never had W10 on it - Failure.
I tried on a PC that did have W10 on it but had the System Drive exchanged with the PC above this line - Failure.
I tried it from the WEB - Failure.
I tried it from a DVD - Failure.
I tried it from a USB Thumb Drive - Failure.
In all of the above scenarios, I removed all USB Hardware, except the install from the USB Thumb Drive.
In all of the above scenarios, I disabled all Security Software, except MSE, which was found and flagged each time.

Is there ANYWHERE I can look to determine why the W10 In-Place Upgrade install fails?

Please keep it simple as I am a novice at this.

Regedit32

Reaction score
Hi and Welcome to the Forum Mike.

You could take a look at Microsoft's SetupDiag here:

That tool may help you figure out what is failing. Read the page as it explains how it works and where it saves the log files to.

Reaction score
An in-place upgrade is not what you are doing but we may be able to help with your situation, depending on the output of the setupdiag utility.. If it doesn't have the necessary info, it may require more files be made available.

Reaction score
Hi,
this is a very useful link if you wanna upgrade from a valid version win7 to a genuine win10, and all still for free. Did it some weeks ago on an Win7 PC that hadn't been used for 3-4 years, and it works :)

Reaction score
"MediaCreationTool" will do exactly what you are asking... is long as your Windows 7 is not corrupt in any way. and Your PC will run and work even if it has corruption. It will not upgrade if Corrupted.

Reaction score