Is W 10 Upgrade Still available.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Defender01, May 4, 2018.

  1. Defender01

    Defender01

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Essex
    Is it still possible to download W 10 from W 7 that has previously ran W 10. ?
     
    Defender01, May 4, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Defender01

    Tim Locke

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    2,273
    Likes Received:
    343
    Location:
    Guelph On
    Once you have activated W10 on a given set of hardware you should be able to download it again even if it is a newer version. But you can only download the level you had before. I.e if you had W10 home activated you can only down load Home unless you pay for the upgrade and get a new activation.
     
    Tim Locke, May 4, 2018
    #2
    clifford_cooley likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Defender01

    Defender01

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Essex
    So do I use the media creation tool.
     
    Defender01, May 4, 2018
    #3
  4. Defender01

    BigFeet

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    166
    Location:
    Syracuse
    You can use that or any Windows 10 media. You shouldn't have any issues reactivating it. On a side note, the last time I attempted to upgrade a Windows 7 machine (a couple months ago), I was still able to activate it.
     
    BigFeet, May 5, 2018
    #4
    clifford_cooley likes this.
  5. Defender01

    Defender01

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Essex
    Well i thought that went to smoothly.
    Everything works except i can not connect to the internet i t.PNG
     
    Defender01, May 6, 2018
    #5
  6. Defender01

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,460
    Likes Received:
    1,806
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    What is Device Manager showing by way of identifying your network adapter and its' associated driver.
    The way I see it, you have two options.....
    Manually assign static values to the network adapter or see if you can find an updated driver for the adapter.

    It's pretty rare that Windows 10 doesn't have a driver that'll usually work with most cards although I occasionally have similar issues with my Killer Networks adapter.
    Use Device Manager to display the properties box for that adapter, and then use the "Details" tab and the drop down to display the Hardware Ids and copy and paste the top line into Google and see what you can find out about the adapter.
     
    Trouble, May 6, 2018
    #6
  7. Defender01

    Bighorn

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    152
    The built-in/on the motherboard NIC/Network Adapter doesn't seem to be a big problem with having support in Win10 but the Add-in PCI or PCIe X1 cards may be a different story, may need the drivers that came with it. For Custom computers there usually is a CD that comes with a motherboard that has all the necessary drivers for devices on the board.
     
    Bighorn, May 6, 2018
    #7
  8. Defender01

    Defender01

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Essex
    Everything was o k with w 7 my wireless network is o k but no Ethernet:(
     
    Defender01, May 6, 2018
    #8
  9. Defender01

    Tim Locke

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    2,273
    Likes Received:
    343
    Location:
    Guelph On
    Go to the network status and sharing page and check that the adapter is enabled. The message from the Troubleshooter suggest s that there is an adapter present so perhaps enabling it will get you going.
     
    Tim Locke, May 6, 2018
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.