Network dropped after update


Joined
Aug 8, 2015
Messages
207
Reaction score
4
I have a small three computer network. Everytime there is a Windows update the network connection on my desktop computer is lost. I get an error message that says "AN ERROR HAS OCCURRED AND THE CONNECTION WAS NOT RESTORED" Does anybody there have any ideas on how I get it back?
I'd appreciate any help available. Thank you.

ottiliegirl
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 9, 2017
Messages
663
Reaction score
140
well iif you're on 202H the workaround is to create a desktop folder name Network and create short cut's there for each of your other computers?
If that's not the problem try to reset your network all NIC WiFi etc, then set them up again. Assume you are using Peer to Peer windows workgroup?
MS seems to not want us to network our computers any more for some reason
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2015
Messages
207
Reaction score
4
The computer that is having the problem is not on 20H2 and right now can't get that version. I have tried updating but message said the computer was up to date. I don't understand what you wrote about reseting the network. I'm not very knowledgeable in that area. I don't want to do anything that interupts the connection of the other computers.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2017
Messages
663
Reaction score
140
Well if your network is not working you'll need to reset it. as a first try to sort out the issue.All Setting/Network and Internet/Network Reset. This will reset your network on your computer and hopefully on restart your network will start working again as usual.
Other things you can try
Check your Shares
Check the Security setting for each Share
Check that you're Work Group is still set correctly whatever name you use it just has to be the same on all computers
Insure SMB 1 is turned off, it is no longer supported in windows 10
You can check the Services.msc
Function Discovery Provider Host
Function Discovery Resource Publication,
Both need to be running and set to Autostart
To get to Services Type services.msc right click services. msc and select run as admin scroll down to the listed seerices
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2018
Messages
26
Reaction score
6
Looks like I have the 20H2 problem and shortcuts arn't an answer for .me here is how mine happened.

I have a home network with 3 Laptops 2 on cat6 1 on WIFI,
3 Desktops all on cat6, 2 Smart TVs not on network yet.
ALL systems are running Wndows 10 Pro with the nics running
gigabit thru a Networth 8 port unmanaged switch. The average
network speed is pushing 500 mbps even in wifi. All systems
have at least 2TB external backup drives with the larger system
have 5TB. For a long time when I went to file exploreer and
opened the "network" to show all logged in systems I could
see all computers by name on the network. Flipping back about
a week or so something happened. I got an update to the computers
for windows. 2021-03 Update Windows 10 ver. 20H2 X64 (KB4023057)
installed on 4/21/21. The one Before was 2021-04 Cumulative Update
Windows 10 ver20H2 X64 (KB5001330)installed on 4/13/21. Later my
son set both of the smart TV's up on the wifi But I made him take
them off. Needless I am not sure what happened and when but NOW I
go to file open explorer and all that shows up is one laptop which
is the first system started every day. It acts like I am running
workgroups in "Home" version and there is a browsermaster taking
control. But as far as I know there no browser master in "Pro
Version. My son is also running his systems 1 Desktop, 1 Laptop,
1 TV on his own 8 port switch daisey chained off my switch.
All systems run McAfee Live Safe Virus scan and Firewall.

Any hhelp would be welcomed. Thanks.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 9, 2017
Messages
663
Reaction score
140
Well, so far there seems to be no workaround other than the desktop folder the issue arrived with the 20H2 upgrade. I was able to uninstall that KB update on all but this one computer. Hoping that 2104 would fix it but haven't heard yet if that is so. So staying on 2004 on all my other computer until this gets fixed.
So you're telling me that 2104 still has the same issue?
So your answer is to uninstall KB that installed 202H and wait with the rest of us for MS to fix this issue.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top