Please help crazy boot problem!!

Reaction score
IL try to make this short. 1st off... I'm a mechanic not a pc wiz. Here is the long story short. I bought a pretty built dell xps 8700 desktop to play diablo 3 when it came out. This pc had windows 8. I really really hated how it booted to tiles and not to desktop (used to Windows xp) so I did some research and hacked it sorta by changing the boot to screen.. I got it to boot to the library folder... I let it at that as it was better than tiles boot. Fast forward to a week ago. Now I'm wanting to play Rust. So I'm dusting off my pc. Updating and upgrading. First thing i did was upgrade to free Windows 10. This is where my issue starts. Thinking that move would start me fresh...undo my boot to hack. It did not. When I boot up now in w10. It goes to login (which I have bypassed now) then to desktop.. BUT. it lags forever then brings up file explorer. Like it's trying to boot directly to file explorer... I feel my changes in Windows 8 caused this. I've looked all over.. can't find a fix. I really don't want to have to downgrade back to w8. Fix it there (because I don't know how... was WAY over my head in the first place) and then back to w10... please someone help. Thanks! BTW rapom is mopar backwards...

Regedit32

Reaction score
Hi,

If you've only just upgraded to Windows 10 (within the last 30 days):
  • Click Start
  • Click Settings
  • Click Update & security
  • In the left pane click Recovery

You ought to now see an option to return to Windows 8

However, you may not need to go to such extremes to resolve the issue if in fact the issue you are experiencing is being caused by your previous tweak of the Windows 8 booting to avoid tiles and hit your Desktop instead.

If that is what you did then you had to modify the Shell in the Winlogon hive located here:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\Current Version\Winlogon