Ports (COM and LTE) not showing in Device Manager in windows 10


bassfisher6522

Moderator
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Messages
1,232
Reaction score
180
I did originally say I wanted my printer to work for me.
To start from the beginning, my new printer is wireless, as is my laptop.
My laptop is this: ASUS VivoBook Max X541SA Laptop, Intel Pentium N3710 1.6GHz, 4GB RAM, 1TB HDD, 15.6" LED, DVDRW, Intel HD, WIFI, Webcam, Bluetooth, Windows 10 Home 64bit
Printer did work at first, then since laptop did automatic updates, it now doesn't.
On searching online for the error message, it said to go to ports in device manager. That wasn't visible and so that is how I ended up here!
Your advice has at least enabled the ports to be visible.
Should I start a new post elsewhere?
I would do this.....uninstall any printer that is listed, then unplug the usb cable...either from the PC or printer. Then download the latest version of the driver/software package for your printer. With HP printers there is a certain sequence you have to follow for hooking up/connecting and powering up printer. You have to follow those instructions exactly. Once the uninstall is complete, reboot....then with the fresh copy of of your driver software package.....install and follow onscreen prompts.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
1,621
Reaction score
272
I also was replying to the first post by Ravi, clicked the wrong Reply button.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2018
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Go here and download the chipset driver and install it. https://www.asus.com/Laptops/ASUS-VivoBook-Max-X541SA/HelpDesk_Download/

Where's the printer info?
I've gone to that link, entered the model of my laptop and downloaded the chipset like you suggested.
The file was this
Chipset_Intel_Skylate_Win10_64_VER101113
I installed newer versions of drivers for anything that was already in my laptop.
Printer still coming up as error - this is driving me bananas! How can this be so hard?!
Please tell me I'm not the only one to have this problem?!
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2018
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
I've gone to that link, entered the model of my laptop and downloaded the chipset like you suggested.
The file was this
Chipset_Intel_Skylate_Win10_64_VER101113
I installed newer versions of drivers for anything that was already in my laptop.
Printer still coming up as error - this is driving me bananas! How can this be so hard?!
Please tell me I'm not the only one to have this problem?!
I've now uninstalled everything to do with the HP printer, will let you know when have reinstalled it..
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2018
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Finally winning!
Printer reinstalled, new drivers in.
Seemed last time I did updates, Windows10 decided to take control and decide how printing was to be done. Hubby had a go, found that, reset default printer and twiddled with some other things (he's used to old fashioned ways with stuff and Bios, all over my head tbh!)
But at least it now all works.
Thank you all so much for putting up with me - you're all legends!
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2019
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Gentlemen I did this workaround on my Dell laptop and it worked but on my desktop 8500 when I hit action I didn’t get a drop down menu to install legacy hardware. Is there a way to do this another way? My old PC was the free upgrade to Windows 10 btw
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top