Program in Registry Run folder only runs randomly

Discussion in 'Software' started by TrainableMan, Aug 11, 2017.

  1. TrainableMan

    TrainableMan

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    PA, USA
    I have a program in HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run that I want to startup every time I login. I have two other programs that start every time but the third only starts randomly. The only difference is the two that work all the time are 32-bit running from \Program Files (x86)\ but the third is 64-bit from \Program Files\.

    Any ideas?
     
    TrainableMan, Aug 11, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. TrainableMan

    Regedit32 Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,536
    Likes Received:
    727
    If its a 64-bit program you should be placing its executable path in:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
     
    Regedit32, Aug 11, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. TrainableMan

    davehc

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,524
    Likes Received:
    474
    Location:
    Denmark
    I don't like interfering too much with the registry. Among other problems, it is likelt to get changed with MS updates.
    What I do is drag a shortcut of the Program to the Windows Startup Folder, located at:

    C:\Users\Username\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup
    I have had instances where that did not work, but for my temporary uses, it is good enough.
     
    davehc, Aug 11, 2017
    #3
  4. TrainableMan

    TrainableMan

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    PA, USA
    The program even has an option to "make it start with windows" but that didn't work & I thought it might be some difference in win10. So I tried the startup folder first Dave but it was inconsistent so I went to the registry but still it seems 50-50. I will move it as Regedit suggests and see if that helps.
     
    TrainableMan, Aug 11, 2017
    #4
  5. TrainableMan

    TrainableMan

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    PA, USA
    So HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run isn't limited to 64-bit programs (my SpyBot which is x86 already put itself there). The difference with putting things in this Run folder as opposed to the other is that this folder is for every user of this computer where the other one means it only runs for my login. Since I'm currently the only user it doesn't much matter so I will leave it here to see if it works any better.
     
    TrainableMan, Aug 11, 2017
    #5
  6. TrainableMan

    Regedit32 Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,536
    Likes Received:
    727
    Correct, but given you said the problematic program is 64-bit, it does need to be located there.
     
    Regedit32, Aug 11, 2017
    #6
  7. TrainableMan

    davehc

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,524
    Likes Received:
    474
    Location:
    Denmark
    By the same premise, I guess, with my method, the "universal folder would be
    C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup
     
    davehc, Aug 11, 2017
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. Rev. Michael L. Burns

    Run Program at Startup

    Rev. Michael L. Burns, Feb 11, 2015, in forum: General Discussion
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,680
    Trouble
    Feb 11, 2015
  2. wallyb

    Uninstall Runs but Program Stays on System

    wallyb, Aug 16, 2015, in forum: General Discussion
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    498
    BigFeet
    Aug 17, 2015
  3. Paul Walker
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    893
    Trouble
    Aug 31, 2015
  4. Cressington

    Startup menu options just run a zip program...

    Cressington, May 25, 2016, in forum: Windows 10 Support
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    404
    russe
    May 27, 2016
  5. gogreen
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    460
    gogreen
    Aug 2, 2016
  6. robert grant

    Folder or File open in another program

    robert grant, Dec 7, 2016, in forum: Windows 10 Support
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    303
    Saltgrass
    Dec 7, 2016
  7. Karen L
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    291
    Karen L
    Apr 13, 2017
  8. Gage3780

    SOLVED Cant run Windows Registry Checker Scanreg /restore etc.!

    Gage3780, Jul 7, 2017, in forum: Windows 10 Support
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    290
    Clintlgm
    Jul 10, 2017
Loading...