Program in Registry Run folder only runs randomly

Discussion in 'Software' started by TrainableMan, Aug 11, 2017.

  1. TrainableMan

    TrainableMan

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    PA, USA
    I have a program in HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run that I want to startup every time I login. I have two other programs that start every time but the third only starts randomly. The only difference is the two that work all the time are 32-bit running from \Program Files (x86)\ but the third is 64-bit from \Program Files\.

    Any ideas?
     
    TrainableMan, Aug 11, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. TrainableMan

    Regedit32 Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,840
    Likes Received:
    860
    If its a 64-bit program you should be placing its executable path in:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
     
    Regedit32, Aug 11, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. TrainableMan

    davehc

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3,089
    Likes Received:
    615
    Location:
    Denmark
    I don't like interfering too much with the registry. Among other problems, it is likelt to get changed with MS updates.
    What I do is drag a shortcut of the Program to the Windows Startup Folder, located at:

    C:\Users\Username\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup
    I have had instances where that did not work, but for my temporary uses, it is good enough.
     
    davehc, Aug 11, 2017
    #3
  4. TrainableMan

    TrainableMan

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    PA, USA
    The program even has an option to "make it start with windows" but that didn't work & I thought it might be some difference in win10. So I tried the startup folder first Dave but it was inconsistent so I went to the registry but still it seems 50-50. I will move it as Regedit suggests and see if that helps.
     
    TrainableMan, Aug 11, 2017
    #4
  5. TrainableMan

    TrainableMan

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    PA, USA
    So HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run isn't limited to 64-bit programs (my SpyBot which is x86 already put itself there). The difference with putting things in this Run folder as opposed to the other is that this folder is for every user of this computer where the other one means it only runs for my login. Since I'm currently the only user it doesn't much matter so I will leave it here to see if it works any better.
     
    TrainableMan, Aug 11, 2017
    #5
  6. TrainableMan

    Regedit32 Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,840
    Likes Received:
    860
    Correct, but given you said the problematic program is 64-bit, it does need to be located there.
     
    Regedit32, Aug 11, 2017
    #6
  7. TrainableMan

    davehc

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3,089
    Likes Received:
    615
    Location:
    Denmark
    By the same premise, I guess, with my method, the "universal folder would be
    C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup
     
    davehc, Aug 11, 2017
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.