Restart/Install took 1.5 hours. Shut down while installing and can't system restore. Desktop is not accessible on regular start up.

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am new to my first professional job and my personal msi laptop that I now use for work is not working. I spent a lot of time last week installing new software onto my reliable 3year old computer. While I was restarting my computer to finish a software install that was less than 7 gb this last Friday, the screen continued to say, 'updating your computer please be patient and don't shut down your computer during updates'. So I waited for 75-80 minutes during work before becoming impatient and shutting down my laptop.

The log in page looks fine, but once I log in the entire screen is black except for the black windows bar with icons that I cannot click on or access. An error reads c:\windows\system32\config\systemprofile\desktop is not accessible. Access is denied.
I cannot get anything to work or come up regularly, except for task manager which says that nothing is running.

My safe mode is not responding correctly either. I cannot access the windows bar or other applications.

I attempted to do every system restore and system image recovery possible but continued to get the same error: an unspecified error occurred during system restore (0x80070003). I've gone through many solutions (cmd disk drive check, sfc/scannow run as administrator, etc.) to try and figure out what I did but I'm really worried that I spent the weekend trying to fix this and came up with no results. I believe my local c ssd hard drive, (1 250gb ssd and 1 750gb sata drive in laptop), is not working because of my premature shutdown.

Will I need to reset my PC and save all my files on a hard drive like I had a coworker suggest? I'm an engineer but not very computer savvy so any suggestions are welcome on how to fix this issue. Thanks everyone.

Jarryd

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Reaction score