Security pop-up warning

Discussion in 'Security' started by PA-WOODCHUCK, Oct 29, 2018.

  1. PA-WOODCHUCK

    PA-WOODCHUCK

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    I get this warning when going to sites that are 100% safe. I'm using NS Defender as only virus software installed. I don't have and never had McAfee installed. Also have Arris SBG-75800-AC modem/router which I have contacted inquiring if McAfee is installed on modem/router which they say NO!, Also checked with comcast and stated the same. But comcast thinks it has something to do with MS Defender. Anyone else see this issue?

    thanks
     

    Attached Files:

    PA-WOODCHUCK, Oct 29, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. PA-WOODCHUCK

    PA-WOODCHUCK

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    Also shows up on wife's system which has Norton installed.
     
    PA-WOODCHUCK, Oct 29, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. PA-WOODCHUCK

    Saltgrass

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,744
    Likes Received:
    232
    You might check the programs and features on the control panel and see if any McAfee software is installed.

    I know Dell loads it on all their systems and can be hard to remove. If you have done a reset or reinstall, it may have been reinstalled then also.

    The Task Manager is another place to see if it is actually running on your system.
     
    Saltgrass, Oct 29, 2018
    #3
  4. PA-WOODCHUCK

    BigFeet

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    Syracuse
    I'd give your PC a scan with ADWCleaner and see if you have any PUP's (potentially unwanted programs) on your system. They are notorious for browser pop ups and stuff like that. That's certainly what it looks like. Defender does a very poor job stopping them. You could use Malwarebytes to scan with too, but you have to enable PUP detection in the settings. It's off by default.
     
    BigFeet, Oct 30, 2018
    #4
  5. PA-WOODCHUCK

    Wolfie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,384
    Likes Received:
    267
    Whatever you do, don't click on it and activate it, if the tab won't close, it is most likely a scam. :):):)
     
    Wolfie, Oct 30, 2018
    #5
  6. PA-WOODCHUCK

    davehc

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3,889
    Likes Received:
    746
    Location:
    Denmark
    davehc, Oct 30, 2018
    #6
  7. PA-WOODCHUCK

    Alkagro

    Joined:
    Friday
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    will have to try too
     
    Alkagro, Nov 10, 2018 at 4:01 PM
    #7
  8. PA-WOODCHUCK

    PA-WOODCHUCK

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    UPDATE: ADW scan shows nothing than a listing for "...searchdial…" which I had it repair. There is no trace of anything mcafee in control panel or system search. Something odd is the same popup came up when using my iPad?

    Is it possible for a hacker to load that software on the cable modem/router combo? But we haven't had that happen for over a week?
     
    PA-WOODCHUCK, Nov 10, 2018 at 6:08 PM
    #8
  9. PA-WOODCHUCK

    BigFeet

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    Syracuse
    BigFeet, Nov 11, 2018 at 12:56 AM
    #9
  10. PA-WOODCHUCK

    Wolfie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,384
    Likes Received:
    267
    Hi PA-WOODCHUCK,

    you can also password protect your router if you feel you need to, just open the settings for your model and create a password, it is very easy!. Check the manual for your router. :):):)
     
    Wolfie, Nov 11, 2018 at 6:19 AM
    #10
  11. PA-WOODCHUCK

    BigFeet

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    Syracuse
    That doesn't do anything against a dns reroute. That's a vulnerability in the routers firmware. If that ends up being what's happening, he'll need to update the routers firmware. I had to do that years ago when that exploit/vulnerability first became news.
     
    BigFeet, Nov 11, 2018 at 4:44 PM
    #11
  12. PA-WOODCHUCK

    Wolfie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,384
    Likes Received:
    267
    It will if the hacker cannot get admin rights to the router. ;)
     
    Wolfie, Nov 11, 2018 at 8:12 PM
    #12
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.