Start Menu question

Reaction score
Hello, I'm fairly new to Windows 10, but today I did something that I want to change back and have found no solutions so far. I will ask a lead in question to educate me on this new start menu thing.

Sitting in the Desktop screen, when you click the windows icon at lower left (where Win7 Start was) it takes you to a screen with two parts. An apps listing on LEFT and on the RIGHT an area with groups of icons (which I guess are short cuts?).
(1a) Is this entire screen called the Start Menu or just the groups on the RIGHT?

(1b) And if it's just the groups on the RIGHT what is the apps on the LEFT called?

(2) This is what I did that I want to change back.
I wanted to copy some app icons (from the apps listing on LEFT) to the area of groups on the RIGHT. Ok so for awhile I just right clicked on the desired ones on the LEFT and choose pin to start and it would copy the icon into the group area on the RIGHT.

But then I got tired of right clicking and thought I could just drag the icon from the LEFT to the RIGHT. But when I did that it moved (not copied) the icon so now it's not in the apps listing on the LEFT any more.

I tried to drag the moved icon (now on the RIGHT) back to the LEFT apps listing but it won't stick. Just stays on the RIGHT.

So then I tried right clicking on the icon (in the RIGHT group area) and choosing Unpin from start. Well that just deleted it, now the icon (which was paint) is totally gone from everywhere.

How can get the icons I moved to the RIGHT side back the to the LEFT?

And how can get the Paint app back from where ever it disappear to?

Really appreciate any help here.

Reaction score