THUNDERBOLT Audio Interface Win 10 Compatability (Resident Audio T4)

Reaction score
Hi -

I'm a Detroit Jazz musician (saxophone and piano).

I purchased:

1. ASUS Transformer 3 Pro tablop. It's a Microsoft Surface Pro 4 clone with a Thunderbolt 3 port; and

2. Resident Audio T4 Thunderbolt audio interface.

I can't get the ASUS to recognize the RA.....

According to RA customer support, the T4 works on Mac and on ONLY Win 8 - NOT on Win 10.

I have to use a Startech TB 3 to TB2 adapter as well, but other audio interface companies report its success with other computers.

The RA T4 is the ONLY TB bus powered interface on the market, and only $250. It's light and small. It's next competitor is the Focusrite Clarett 4 Pre at $600, 3.5 pounds, and NOT bus powered. I want to busk (street musician) with this set up, as well as play "normal" gigs in bars, etc. Everything else is battery powered.

There is an advanced tech person/musician on the GearSlutz Forum (he makes music computers) who asserts that he has succeeded in using the RA T4 with Win 10 and the Startech TB2 to TB3 adapter.

I've tried everything, including trying to "fool" the ASUS into thinking it's a Win 8 machine by loading Win 8 TB drivers into it.... NOTHING works.

The ASUS has a 512 SSD hard drive, 16 gigs of RAM, and a i7 6500 OU CPU. The Chipset is listed as "Integrated Intel CPU."

Its Thunderbolt port is stated as being USB-C 3.1 - Thunderbolt.

There is a Win 10 compatibility checker, but it's only available to those upgrading from 8, etc. My machine came with Win 10.

I can't believe that the RA T4 won't work with Win 10 when it will with Win 8. Of course, RA says it has no plans to make it work, a stance that I fail to comprehend, especially since this product is "one of a kind."

Any help in running a compatibility check or a tweak to make it work would be most appreciated!

Thanks,

- Jeff Newton (Detroit Jazz Saxophonist and Pianist)

Reaction score
and on ONLY Win 8 - NOT on Win 10.