Too many Document folders?

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I'm very new to Windows 10 (only started with it a couple of days ago) and not very computer literate to boot. So please do excuse any apparent ignorance I may seem to have.When Vista Home Premium was my OS I could access MY DOCUMENTS via Windows Explorer. There was only ever just one folder entitled DOCUMENTS. But when I click File Explorer in Windows 10 there appears to be three different DOCUMENT folders!! One appears in This PC>Documents, another in OneDrive>Documents, and a third in C:\Users\(my account name)>Documents. When I open the first two they contain identical contents but the third one has less in it. I'm sure this difference has a perfectly logical explanation but I'm just a bit confused. I also tried to pin one of those DOCUMENT folders to the task bar but it only allows me to pin FILE EXPLORER. I'm sorry if I appear naive but if anyone can kindly explain just what is going on, I'd be very grateful. Kind regards to all.

Regedit32

Reaction score
Hi Feathers,

Welcome to the Forum.

Each User Account get's its own set of Picture, Documents, Music folders etcetera.

When you're logged in to your account and open File Explorer, the Documents folder under Quick Access or This PC are one in the same folder [ just two ways to get there as some Users choose not to have the Quick Access display at all in their File Explorer window ].

These Document folders can only be accessed by the logged in User unless you set up to be shared on a Network.

The OneDrive Document folder stores a personal Note application that you can make notes in. This is stored in your personal OneDrive cloud account and you can access that from any device you own that is registered to your account. That is handy if you travel a lot, but not always with your computer.