Unexpected Error

Discussion in 'Announcements, Suggestions and Feedback' started by clifford_cooley, Mar 20, 2016.

  1. clifford_cooley

    clifford_cooley

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Quite frequently I've been getting this Unexpected Error (404 error) while logging in to both w7forums and windows10forums. The error happens around the same time of day, 2 to 4 AM central time zone.

    I've ignored it several times and come close to reporting it a few other times. I finally decided to report it tonight.
     
    clifford_cooley, Mar 20, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. clifford_cooley

    Regedit32 Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,766
    Likes Received:
    833
    Hi Clifford,

    What browser are you using to log in with when you get this error?

    Regedit32
     
    Regedit32, Mar 20, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. clifford_cooley

    clifford_cooley

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Firefox 43.01

    After a few minutes the error goes away and it is the next day before I see it again.
     
    clifford_cooley, Mar 20, 2016
    #3
  4. clifford_cooley

    Regedit32 Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,766
    Likes Received:
    833
    Hi Clifford,

    It's possible in the preferences for your Firefox browser the network.http.sendRefererHeader is set to 0.

    Depending on how a webserver is set up this can cause a default error to be triggered, usually 404, but occasionally a 403 error too.

    To resolve this simply:
    • open the Firefox browser
    • In the Location/Address bar type about:config and press ENTER key
      • Alternately click Tools | Options | Advanced | General | then click the Config Efitor button
    • You ought to see a long list of preferences. Scroll down to location network.http.sendRefererHeader
      • If its value is 0 or 2, then left double-click it and set value to 1 (i.e. network.http.sendRefererHeader: 1)
    Note: If you cannot see network.http.sendRefererHead at all in the preference list then add it to the list by doing the following:
    • Right click in a blank area of page (or select Context Menu)
    • Select New Type of Preference
      • You will be prompted for the preference name and initial value.
      • Enter: network.http.sendRefererHeader for the name and 1 for the value

    Sources:

    Regards,

    Regedit32
     
    Regedit32, Mar 20, 2016
    #4
  5. clifford_cooley

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,156
    Likes Received:
    368
    Thanks for the heads up Clifford - if it happens again, if you could let me know the exact date/time it happens (GMT if possible- as that's the server time) and I'll look at the logs and see what happens at this end :).
     
    Ian, Mar 21, 2016
    #5
  6. clifford_cooley

    clifford_cooley

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Will do. :)
     
    clifford_cooley, Mar 21, 2016
    #6
    Ian likes this.
  7. clifford_cooley

    clifford_cooley

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Arkansas
    4/3/16 8AM UTC
    database-error.png
     
    clifford_cooley, Apr 3, 2016
    #7
    Ian likes this.
  8. clifford_cooley

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,156
    Likes Received:
    368
    Thanks Clifford, this hasn't shown up in the usual logs - so I'll need to see why that is. I'll add a MySQL monitor and see what's going on :).
     
    Ian, Apr 4, 2016
    #8
    clifford_cooley likes this.
  9. clifford_cooley

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,156
    Likes Received:
    368
    It looks like nothing appeared in the main logs as everything is still running, but the MySQL table is locked during a slow query that happens around this time. I've got the query from the log and I'm seeing if I can re-factor it to prevent this from happening.
     
    Ian, Apr 5, 2016
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.