Windows 10 crashed during updates and programs were lost

Reaction score
(1) How do I backup my Laptop HP 250 Notepad so that I don't lose my programs again. My files were recovered, but I had to re-download Lightroom and Photoshop Elements. I still have other photographic programs to re-download and the thought of having a crash again and having to go through the trauma is daunting.

Has anyone had any experience of this and could recommend a backup suitable for my needs that is not complicated?

I am not a techie, but I have a brain.

(2) Anyone familiar with Lightroom, as my Lightroom photos are now in My Pictures and are marked "Lightroom Photo Storage". I would like instructions on how to get those back into Lightroom.

Thanks.

Reaction score
Yes, I use Macrium Reflect. the free addition will create Images of your Disk/SSD that can be restore to the exact moment they were created. the paid version will allow incremental and differential back up and a File and folder back ups and scheduling of automatic back ups .
Be sure to create and test the USB recovery disk.
Be sure to create a complete Image of your OS Disk/SSD don't fool around with partition images do the complete disk/SSD then create another image of your C:\ Partition this will cover you for any disaster.
For Windows only issues just restore the C:\ Image, if your not able to boot then Restore your Complete Disk/SSD image.
I do Incremental back ups of my C:\ Partition daily that way I can go back by days for about 30 days. Comes in handy as sometimes you install something and its a couple of days or so before you find you have an issue.
You should develop a back up strategy that suites your systems and eternal storage capacity. Goggle will help you figure out what you need to do beyond the main two images I discussed in this reply.

Reaction score
Thank you Clint.