Windows 10 Startup problems

SOLVED Discussion in 'Crashes, BSODs and Debugging' started by heimdaloz, Dec 15, 2018.

  1. heimdaloz

    heimdaloz

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Have been running windows 10 on my PC since it was released. This week my PC starting booting up to the windows screen and then the screen goes black. I can restart my PC in safe mode with out any issues.

    I have tried to repair the startup through windows and it fails. I have tried to used bootrec but the it doesn't exist on my PC. I can't create a recovery disk because my PC only boots into safe mode and a it can't be created in this mode.

    All suggestions appreciated.
     
    heimdaloz, Dec 15, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. heimdaloz

    davehc

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4,036
    Likes Received:
    773
    Location:
    Denmark
    Not mentioned in your post. Maybe too elementary. Have you kept the many updates going since your first install?
    What version do you have now, it should be
    Version 1809 (OS Build 17763.194)
     
    davehc, Dec 15, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. heimdaloz

    heimdaloz

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, all updates done. This problem seemed to coincide with the last update.
     
    heimdaloz, Dec 16, 2018
    #3
  4. heimdaloz

    heimdaloz

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seems I am on Version 10.0.17134
     
    heimdaloz, Dec 16, 2018
    #4
  5. heimdaloz

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,769
    Likes Received:
    1,873
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    Trouble, Dec 16, 2018
    #5
  6. heimdaloz

    heimdaloz

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Clean boot makes no difference. I have tried the installation disk and then used bootrec but the fixboot fails with access denied. I have tried the fix for this, using Diskpart, and it does not fix the problem. I have just tried re-install and it tells me I can't do this from the disk, that I must login into windows first.
     
    heimdaloz, Dec 16, 2018
    #6
  7. heimdaloz

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,769
    Likes Received:
    1,873
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    IF your computer boots into Safe Mode but fails after disabling all startup items and all non-Microsoft Services (Clean Boot), then....
    The issue might be linked to attached devices.
    Please disconnect any and all peripherals including all wireless dongles (keyboard, mouse, network, etc.)
    Disconnected any USB peripherals like printers or external storage devices.
    Attempt to boot the machine with only a wired USB mouse, wired USB keyboard and monitor.

    IF you have any third party security software installed you might attempt to uninstall that product(s) from Safe Mode.
     
    Trouble, Dec 16, 2018
    #7
  8. heimdaloz

    heimdaloz

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I only have a wired mouse, keyboard and monitor. All my other devices are connected to other PC's.

    Removed AVG and made no difference.
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2018
    heimdaloz, Dec 17, 2018
    #8
  9. heimdaloz

    BigFeet

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Syracuse
    This is a shot in the dark. Maybe try turning off fast startup? Control Panel>Power Options>Choose What Power Button Does (on left hand side)>Change Settings That Are Currently Unavailable (on top)>Uncheck Turn On Fast Startup>Save Changes.
     
    BigFeet, Dec 17, 2018
    #9
  10. heimdaloz

    heimdaloz

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Turn on Fast Startup is not an option only hibernate and lock. I am running Windows 10 Home.
     
    heimdaloz, Dec 18, 2018
    #10
  11. heimdaloz

    Ben Myers

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    26
    If it was the 1809 update, you may have the option to roll back to 1803. Press the Windows and "i" keys simultaneously, click "Update and Security", "View Update History", then "Uninstall Updates".

    Ben
     
    Ben Myers, Dec 18, 2018
    #11
  12. heimdaloz

    BigFeet

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Syracuse
    That's odd. I have 5 machines running Windows 10 (2 are home version) and they all have that option. And it's been known to cause black screen issues.
     
    BigFeet, Dec 18, 2018
    #12
  13. heimdaloz

    heimdaloz

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I finally gave up and bought a new drive. remove all of the others. I only have a keyboard, mouse, monitor and the network. Started in up, installed windows 10 fresh install. It installed okay and then said it had updates. The updates ran and my PC has return to going to the Windows icon and then the screen going black
     
    heimdaloz, Dec 22, 2018
    #13
  14. heimdaloz

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,769
    Likes Received:
    1,873
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    What was the version of Windows 10 on the installation media you used to perform the "fresh install"?
    What updates did Windows 10 subsequently install?

    Tell us about your computer.
    Manufacturer, Model Name, Complete Model Number?
    Does your machine have an internal wireless network adapter? IF so, what is the Manufacturer and model?
     
    Trouble, Dec 22, 2018
    #14
  15. heimdaloz

    heimdaloz

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    My PC is a simple custom job, with the following specs:
    - Motherboard - Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H
    - Memory - 8gb
    - Processor - i7-4790
    - Ethernet connection
    - Hard disk 500gb Samsung SSD EVO

    My installation disc just says Windows 10 Home - 64-bit. The update were done as part of installation process, so I got a screen says updates required and they were updated
     
    heimdaloz, Dec 22, 2018
    #15
  16. heimdaloz

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,769
    Likes Received:
    1,873
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    I was kinda hoping that you might have gone here https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10
    AND
    Used the media creation tool to create new bootable media to perform your "fresh install" there-by avoiding any issues from any older versions or interim cumulative updates except maybe the latest one.
    As you can see, if you click the System Specs link in my avatar, we have virtually identical systems except I'm running 16 gigs of Ram and a smaller 256 Samsung EVO SSD.
    AND
    Having no issues with Windows 10 and the latest version.

    Maybe double check with Gigabyte and see if you're running the latest firmware (BIOS) for that particular board (confirm revision number).
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2018
    Trouble, Dec 22, 2018
    #16
  17. heimdaloz

    heimdaloz

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Trouble, I have multiple computers so will download from you link and try again.
     
    heimdaloz, Dec 22, 2018
    #17
  18. heimdaloz

    heimdaloz

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Trouble, followed your advice and it worked a treat. After so many problems I appreciate your advice immensely. Have a great Christmas.
     
    heimdaloz, Dec 23, 2018
    #18
  19. heimdaloz

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,769
    Likes Received:
    1,873
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    Glad to hear that you managed to resolve your problem.
    Thanks for the follow-up info
    AND
    Merry Christmas to you as well.
     
    Trouble, Dec 23, 2018
    #19
  20. heimdaloz

    MrEd

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Riverland, South Australia
    “Use the media creation tool to create new bootable media to perform your fresh install”

    If my bootable media has both the 32bit and 64bit versions on it can I use the fresh install to change a 32bit machine to a 64bit machine (assuming the CPU etc is 64bit ready)?
     
    MrEd, Dec 23, 2018
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.