Windows switched to 8bit somehow and nothing fixes it


Joined
Sep 7, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
I have 64bit windows but ir runs on 8bit i tried uninstalling graphic drivers reseting windows reinstalling windows nothing works please help.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
4,260
Reaction score
557
Hi Lany11,

how did you determine that it is running on 8 bit?. What version of Win 10 is it? Current version is 2004. Please show a screenshot of the info about 8 bit and your system specs please (make & model). :)
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
4,260
Reaction score
557
On your second pic, it shows a 64 Bit system. The first pic is referring to your graphics display I believe?. :)

 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
2,196
Reaction score
413
What Wolfie said!

The 8-bit part is for the display and same as I have on a Dell Notebook running the 64-bit version of Win10. The 64-bit/x64 part is for the CPU and the installed Operating System.

Wanted to add, we haven't had 8-bit PCs in more than 20-25 years, probably further back, my first in '92 was a 32-bit 80386/40MHz.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
1,898
Reaction score
555
It seems to me that the monitor is not recognized properly. Maybe that is the reason why it is only running on 8bit color depth. Usually a monitor can operate at 256bit depth.
I would check the cable to the monitor for proper seating and tight connection. I assume you have it connected via HDMI?? or are you using the DVI port??
Might want to change the HDMI cable to rule that one out...
 
Ad

Advertisements

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
13,038
Reaction score
2,219
Your settings look good to me.
Those are exactly the same as mine, connected to a similar nVidia GPU.
That 8 bit information you are seeing is a report based on a "per channel" read out and since there are 4 channels (RGB/A) it would indicate a 32 bit color depth.

Are you experiencing some poor overall appearance of images on your computer.

Generally speaking, color depth is dependent on your monitor's capability in conjunction with your GPU and has nothing to do with the 64 bit architecture of your system's CPU.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 2, 2014
Messages
1,476
Reaction score
317
Mine says exactly the same thing. I think Trouble explained it well. If you're not experiencing any display issues, you should be fine.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top