SOLVED Locked out of Windows 10 by wrong user password.

Reaction score
Hello.

I am new to both Windows 10 and this forum.

I attempted to add a (used) Windows 10 PC to the home network. To do that it was necessary to add a password to my Windows 10 ‘local user account’.

My other PCs run Windows 7 and I have little experience of Windows 10. The PC was gifted to me, all data from its previous owner had been deleted and now I am the sole user. As I am the only user I am unable to unlock it due to not having access to administrator privileges.

The PC is a HP Pro Desk 850 G2 with Windows 10 Professional edition (properly licensed, valid and I have the product key). Windows was up to date as of around six weeks ago when I was locked out. (I am slightly concerned that one or other of a number of HP’s support utilities might be complicating the problem by now allowing some possible solutions.)

I had networked the PC and subsequently twice changed the password without problem. I used the networked PCs together for a few days and a day or two later the ‘new’ password was rejected as wrong. The Hint refers to the last password set. I attempted the original passwords but those too were wrong. I can only presume I forgot the password, except one method of resetting it I found on the internet indicated the user account was corrupted.

I had been using the PC only a short time so there is nothing of any value on it. I could simply do a completely fresh reinstallation of Windows 10. However I would prefer to retain the properly licensed and valid installation of MS Office 2016. (Unless I can legitimately reinstall it using only the product key. I appreciate it may not be absolutely 100% legitimate unless reinstalled using the original Microsoft account - in which case I will forego it).