SOLVED Administor Blocked Apps

Reaction score
I went to use my printer last night, HP LaserJet 1102W. Windows no longer recognised the printer. Checked device manager, disappeared from there too. Tried the printer on 2 other machines same thing, it was working fine in April when I did my Taxes LOL
I found the original CD that I have never used before as the printer is USB connected. Windows wouldn't let me install the printer software using the CD. I received the Red error warning "An Administrator has blocked you from running this app"
icon_scratch.png
I did manage to successfully install the printer today using the built in Admin account and the CD to reinstall.

Does anyone know if this is Windows Defender taking control of apps as mentioned in a recent post by @Grizzly ?

https://www.windows10forums.com/threads/windows-defender-seriously.17115/

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Reaction score
Generally speaking you'll need to use an account that is a member of the local administrators group to install software packages that include driver and or firmware.
IS it possible you were logged on with a standard user account.

I suppose that it's also possible that there might have been an issue with the CD if it contained legacy or protected mode drivers.

Your best bet might be to obtain the latest driver package from HP
https://support.hp.com/us-en/driver...es/4110394/model/4110306/swItemId/bi-80329-11

It might also be worth your while to take the time to use the HP Print and Scan Doctor utility from here
https://support.hp.com/us-en/driver...ro-p1102-printer-series/4110394/model/4110306

Reaction score
Trouble Thanks! I tried my both my User account and the Local Admin Account both with the same error message "An Administrator has blocked you from running this app"
I also used the H.P. Printer Trouble Shooter, Printer Install Wizard and the H.P. scan and print doctor apps neither of the apps could find a printer or install from CD.