SOLVED Adobe Reader


Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
122
Reaction score
9
I used to have Adobe Reader. I used it a lot. I have literally hundreds of documents that I refer to with Adobe.

I just became aware that when I attempt to open a PDF, it defaults to Microsoft Edge. Did this get forced upon me with the advent of Windows 10 Version 1809?

If that is the case, am at at risk if I reload Adobe Reader? None of my Adobe applications remain on my computer. I don't know if this is a result to the "upgrade" or not.
 

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
12,215
Reaction score
1,952
While I am not a big fan of Microsoft Edge, I can see absolutely no reason to install any third party software to simply read a PDF when Microsoft Edge does the same thing and is native to the Operating System.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 2, 2014
Messages
1,167
Reaction score
215
Edge is the default pdf reader. I use foxit as mine because the search feature is better and some of my pdf files I use for research are hundreds of pages. If you have adobe reader, you can go in to settings and set it as default. Settings>Apps>Default Apps on the bottom Choose Default Apps By File Type. Scroll down to .pdf and select the program you prefer. Trouble's right though. Edge is perfectly fine for basic pdf viewing.
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
122
Reaction score
9
I don't like "change". I was comfortable with Adobe Reader for what I do but I am not going to reload Adobe just for the sake of going back (more change). I'll use MS Edge until it gives me some sorta problem. I do use many large PDF file though. We'll see.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2016
Messages
2,826
Reaction score
622
I haven't used any adobe software since Windows 10 was installed. I don't like Edge, but, it works well with opening .pdf files.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2014
Messages
2,046
Reaction score
297
If you decide to go back, you should be able to set the default option to Adobe. I had to sign a document last week and used a version of the Reader for that.

I also need Adobe Flash for one of my weather radar loops.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
1,509
Reaction score
402
I have not used Adobe since XP. I am using Foxit Reader for my PDF needs and only V6.1 cause the newer ones all want to connect to a cloud service and try to push features onto me that I do not want to have.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top