Applications opening up in tabs

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Support' started by LuckDragon, Jun 11, 2018.

  1. LuckDragon

    LuckDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    A few weeks ago after a reboot on one of my Win10 machines the apps (MS Office, Control Pannel, Paint, etc) all show up in what appears to be a browser session. In Excel new Workbooks are a new tab. Outlook shows mail to be read in a new tab. I want my applications to be regular win32 apps with normal pop-ups and other controls. I cannot figure our why or how to undo this. Any help is much appreciated. Here is what Outlook looks like in this environment.

    Apps in browser pages.png
     
    LuckDragon, Jun 11, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. LuckDragon

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    482
    It looks like these may be Windows 10 "sets" - a way of opening tabbed application instances.

    Can you please try going to Setting > System > Multitasking and change the option labelled "Apps and websites automatically open in new..." to "window" rather than "tab" :).
     
    Ian, Jun 14, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. LuckDragon

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,674
    Likes Received:
    1,852
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    It does indeed look like "Sets", although.....
    I thought that was only available with the insider program currently.
     
    Trouble, Jun 14, 2018
    #3
  4. LuckDragon

    Bighorn

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    163
    Hold down the Windows Key and press R, type winver and press Enter, will give you the Version of Win10 and the Build of that Version. Post that line of numbers.

    I don't have anything about Sets on my IP Pro Version 1803 Build 17686.1003.
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2018
    Bighorn, Jun 14, 2018
    #4
  5. LuckDragon

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,674
    Likes Received:
    1,852
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    Capture1.PNG
     
    Trouble, Jun 15, 2018
    #5
  6. LuckDragon

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,674
    Likes Received:
    1,852
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    It's more or less already available by default in the Insider Preview
    IF you launch File Explorer or Control Panel or any of a number of other application (even a Command Prompt) you should see the "New Tab" icon at the top of the Window.

    They've just more or less tightened up the integration with the Office Products.

    Another snip from my other install which doesn't have any Office Product Installed.

    Capture.PNG
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2018
    Trouble, Jun 15, 2018
    #6
    Ian likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.