CCleaner doesn't work on this version of Windows.

Discussion in 'Software' started by clifford_cooley, Dec 26, 2016.

  1. clifford_cooley

    clifford_cooley

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    106
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Anyone have a fix for this?

    CCleanerCannotRun.png

    Windows build 1607 and CCleaner 5.16
    And no downloading the most recent version (v5.25) doesn't help. The installer gives the same error and doesn't even try to install. At least the removal process worked a treat, CCleaner 5.16 is no longer on my system. With no possible way of putting it back on. Compatibility mode and run as administrator failed to help as well.
     
    clifford_cooley, Dec 26, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. clifford_cooley

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    8,708
    Likes Received:
    1,032
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    Sorry.... it's been a long time since I have actually installed Ccleaner on any computer.
    I always download the portable version and keep it on a thumb drive and just run it whenever I need to
    https://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download/portable

    When ever a newer version comes out, I usually wait a day or two and they make the portable version available.
    Extract the zip file and you have both 32 and 64 bit flavors to choose from.
     
    Trouble, Dec 26, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. clifford_cooley

    bassfisher6522 Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    51
    It works for me....
     
    bassfisher6522, Dec 26, 2016
    #3
  4. clifford_cooley

    clifford_cooley

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    106
    Location:
    Arkansas
    I should have mentioned I had it working on a previous install, which was the very same build. So I know it is the install that has a glitch.
     
    clifford_cooley, Dec 26, 2016
    #4
  5. clifford_cooley

    bassfisher6522 Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    51
    Have you checked your registry for any left over strings of CC after the uninstall? I'd start there.
     
    bassfisher6522, Dec 26, 2016
    #5
  6. clifford_cooley

    davehc Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,922
    Likes Received:
    303
    Location:
    Denmark
    ┬┤My version is still on 24, but running 100%
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2016
    davehc, Dec 26, 2016
    #6
  7. clifford_cooley

    davehc Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,922
    Likes Received:
    303
    Location:
    Denmark
    Just read some comments on piriform.

    It seems that, in many cases, the windows compatibility client rejects "CCleaner_5.25.exe", but not "ccsetup"
     
    davehc, Dec 26, 2016
    #7
    Ian likes this.
  8. clifford_cooley

    Tim Locke

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,438
    Likes Received:
    171
    Location:
    Guelph On
    5.25 64 bit works for me on 14393.576
     
    Tim Locke, Dec 26, 2016
    #8
  9. clifford_cooley

    Norton

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    146
    Clifford I just had a similar problem, same message. I have been running CCleaner forever. It seems to me that after the last update you have to install the 5.25 64 bit version with Windows 10 Pro 64 bit.
     
    Norton, Dec 27, 2016
    #9
  10. clifford_cooley

    davehc Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,922
    Likes Received:
    303
    Location:
    Denmark
    Very strange problem??

    have the last update. I was running ver 24 successfully. Checked for updates. On Piriforms site it said some had experienced compatibility problems, and the remedy was to update to ver 25.

    "Windows 10 Compatibility Issues


    Yesterday at 13:12
    A small number of users who try to use old versions of CCleaner in the latest Windows 10 update are being told that CCleaner is '..not compatible with this version of Windows'. The version of Windows 10 which is affected is 14393.576.
    Fortunately this issue is easily resolved by downloading and reinstalling CCleaner from the following links:
    - If you're a Free user, please download CCleaner from the following link:

    www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download"

    Although I had no problems, I did this, and ver 25 also ran smoothly.
    Not sure about the 64/32 bit suggestion. I have not , at least for a long time, seen a 32Bit. I believe the program is compatible with 64 or 32Bit.

    Maybe Cliff will come back shortly with his latest experience??
     
    davehc, Dec 27, 2016
    #10
  11. clifford_cooley

    clifford_cooley

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    106
    Location:
    Arkansas
    That's just it, trying to install 5.25 give the same error as trying to run 5.16. Even after uninstalling the 5.16 version, the 5.25 installer still give the error notification. Windows 10 absolutely refused to allow the app to run or install.

    I've gone back on a system image and have it all working again. If anyone can find a solution though, maybe it will help in the future.

    What puzzles me though is not the refusal to allow an application from running. I realize systems break and cause problems. What puzzles me is how this also prevents an application from installing. Almost as if the specific application is intentionally blocked for some reason.
     
    clifford_cooley, Dec 27, 2016
    #11
  12. clifford_cooley

    davehc Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,922
    Likes Received:
    303
    Location:
    Denmark
    And you are trying to install "CCleaner_5.25.exe" ?
    Still cannot track down a 32 BIt
     
    davehc, Dec 27, 2016
    #12
  13. clifford_cooley

    clifford_cooley

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    106
    Location:
    Arkansas
    The file name I was trying to install from is "CCleaner 5.25.exe" (with a space, not an underscore).
     
    clifford_cooley, Dec 27, 2016
    #13
  14. clifford_cooley

    Norton

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    146
    My thoughts exactly, how could MS do this to me. Another program that MS uninstalled that I use on occasion was Wise Registry Cleaner. I have successfully installed both, until next update.
    Some explanation here about MS uninstalls.
    https://forum.piriform.com/index.php?showtopic=45098
     
    Norton, Dec 27, 2016
    #14
  15. clifford_cooley

    davehc Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,922
    Likes Received:
    303
    Location:
    Denmark
    Wait a bit before blaming MS! It did NOT uninstall mine. No tricks, everything on defaults. As so often, it could be a confliction with particular software you are running. But, it most certainly, if that is the case, something that MS should give priority investigation to.
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2016
    davehc, Dec 27, 2016
    #15
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. hTconeM9user

    New release of CCleaner, version 5.11.5408

    hTconeM9user, Oct 26, 2015, in forum: General Discussion
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    802
    Trouble
    Oct 28, 2015
  2. Carter2016

    Windows 10 File Explorer Doesn't Work, Doesn't Open A Folder - Help!!!

    Carter2016, Jan 19, 2016, in forum: Crashes, BSODs and Debugging
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    975
    Carter2016
    Jan 19, 2016
  3. Alfred
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    211
    Alfred
    Aug 3, 2016
  4. Gordon Biggar

    SOLVED Can't get rid of trial version of WinZip

    Gordon Biggar, Aug 9, 2016, in forum: General Discussion
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    420
    Gordon Biggar
    Aug 9, 2016
  5. afshin moshrefi

    Search box on top right of start menu doesn't do anything

    afshin moshrefi, Oct 14, 2016, in forum: Crashes, BSODs and Debugging
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    240
    Old Guy Geek
    Oct 14, 2016
Loading...