How to get PC to support Miracast

Discussion in 'Networking' started by monster10888, Jan 9, 2016.

  1. monster10888

    monster10888

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I just got a new LG smart TV that has a screen share mode. I wanted to use it but apparently my PC doesn't support miracast.

    How do I get miracast support? I'm sure all my drivers are up to date, but i'll check again. Here's my dxdiag, I couldn't get much info from it. I'm not sure why it's not supported, and I don't have much knowledge on the issue.

    Dxdiag

    Could someone who knows more about this help me out?I can get the TV to show up in Devices under settings, but I can't project to it. Does my second monitor have anything to do with it?
     
    monster10888, Jan 9, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. monster10888

    Saltgrass

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    148
    Your system appears to support Miracast. Have you checked the TV?

    I have never been able to get Miracast to work but I did get WiDi to work after I purchased a special device to plug into my Sony Bravia Wireless TV.

    Tomorrow I will check my ASUS motherboard install to see if it can do Miracast in Windows 7 or 8.1. I can't run Windows 10 on it because of Blue Screens.
     
    Saltgrass, Jan 9, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. monster10888

    monster10888

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    The TV shows up in Devices, so windows can pick it up. But when i go to Connect in the action centre on windows it literally says "Your PC or tablet does not support Miracast, so it cannot project wirelessly."

    I just want to know why it can't and what I need to do so it does.
     
    monster10888, Jan 9, 2016
    #3
  4. monster10888

    Saltgrass

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    148
    So your TV shows up under the Wireless devices from the Project menu? Are there any settings on the TV to set it for such a connection?

    WiDi2.jpg
     
    Saltgrass, Jan 9, 2016
    #4
  5. monster10888

    monster10888

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    The [LG] webOS TV LF5900 is the TV. I can't right click on the button. If I click it it just drops down giving a 'remove device' option. Untitled.png Untitled.png
     
    monster10888, Jan 9, 2016
    #5
  6. monster10888

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    10,566
    Likes Received:
    1,607
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    I get the same as above when I choose connect from the notification icon, but....
    When I browse to a video (.mov) or image file (.jpg) file on my computer and choose cast to... my Sony Bravia (which is network connected not Bluetooth) shows up and seems to work flawlessly.
    It may have something to do with the file format.

    Screenshot (7).png
     
    Trouble, Jan 9, 2016
    #6
  7. monster10888

    Saltgrass

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    148
    My system will do the same as Troubles's but I don't have any movies to test. It does Cast photos.

    The WiDi/Miracast system will project the desktop to a device just like it is physically connected as a second Monitor. Your second monitor may be involved but I know WiDi is very particular about the Wireless adapter being used. I have an Intel Wireless AC 7260 and the Intel chip with HD 4600 Graphics capability. I notice you do not have an option on the bottom of your screen to find wireless devices.

    I am still a little confused as to exactly how Miracast and WiDi fit together but I read one site which said Miracast uses WiDi to connect. And that takes special software for WiDi which Dell has on its support site.

    WiDi3.jpg
     
    Saltgrass, Jan 9, 2016
    #7
  8. monster10888

    monster10888

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    monster10888, Jan 9, 2016
    #8
  9. monster10888

    monster10888

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea so my processor (i5-2500k) doesn't support wireless display. What a load of shit.
    Is there something I buy to can plug into my computer (and not the bloody TV) that will let me support wireless display?

    Edit: K so it looks like you gotta get a wireless adapter that supports wireless display. And I guess the one I got now doesn't. So hopefully that's problem solved.
    Untitled.png
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2016
    monster10888, Jan 9, 2016
    #9
  10. monster10888

    Saltgrass

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    148
    Have you tried disconnecting your other monitor or setting your system to use just the one display? I remember something that did not work with multiple displays but I don't remember if this was it.

    The 2500K does do Intel HD 2000 graphics. That is certainly an older version but may work.

    There is a list of Intel Wireless adapters which are acceptable and are not that expensive, I will try to find it. What are you using now?

    Edit: I found this page which does seem to indicate your processor will not work in Windows 10. Maybe some other information on the page will be helpful.

    https://communities.intel.com/thread/96960
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2016
    Saltgrass, Jan 9, 2016
    #10
  11. monster10888

    DLButler

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Screenbeam Wireless Display Kit by Actiontec will work with any HDMI TV
     
    DLButler, Sep 17, 2016
    #11
  12. monster10888

    jjgigem

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had this problem on an older desktop computer that had a 2nd generation I7 processor and a 2011-era motherboard. The solution was simple. It required upgrading the hardware, primarily the display adapter and the wireless network adapter. My research showed that I needed an Nvidia display adapter that had the "Maxwell" technology and an Intel based network adapter. I was able to resolve all of my Miracast problems by getting an Nvidia Geforce GTX 950 video card and an Intel Desktop Wireless Adapter-AC-7260. After installing both items, Miracast started working.
     
    jjgigem, Oct 1, 2016
    #12
  13. monster10888

    SamZone

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you find the solution to the problem?
    Because it is the same problem that i have encountered in my laptop that says "Your PC or mobile device doesn't support miracast, so it cannot project wirelessly"
    My Acer V5 laptop has been upgraded from windows 8 to windows 10.
    Pls answer!
     
    SamZone, Nov 13, 2016
    #13
  14. monster10888

    ahmed betancourt

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello
    I bought a new android TV and i would like to use Miracast. My pc report said "Miracast: Available, with HDCP".
    What this mean? Do i need a wifi card? or a Bluetooth device?
    Note : my pc is connected to the internet via Ethernet.
    Please help
     
    ahmed betancourt, Oct 11, 2017
    #14
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. Randy

    Miracast not working

    Randy, Jul 11, 2015, in forum: Windows 10 Support
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    8,215
    SamZone
    Nov 13, 2016
  2. Roni segal

    miracast with win10

    Roni segal, Sep 29, 2015, in forum: Networking
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    5,872
    Roni segal
    Sep 29, 2015
  3. H.J.Joergensen

    Miracast from tablet

    H.J.Joergensen, Oct 21, 2015, in forum: Networking
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,267
    H.J.Joergensen
    Oct 22, 2015
  4. Davee3
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,000
    Davee3
    Dec 15, 2015
  5. Dai

    How to make Miracast available?

    Dai, Sep 5, 2016, in forum: Networking
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    5,896
    Saltgrass
    Sep 6, 2016
  6. Katdragon

    Miracast not working

    Katdragon, Oct 11, 2016, in forum: Networking
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    2,770
    Saltgrass
    Aug 28, 2017
  7. Kostas

    Miracast

    Kostas, Oct 11, 2016, in forum: Networking
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    803
    Kostas
    Oct 13, 2016
  8. Kayn The Dogo

    SOLVED How to get PC to support Miracast?

    Kayn The Dogo, Aug 13, 2017, in forum: Networking
    Replies:
    16
    Views:
    632
    Tim Locke
    Aug 24, 2017
Loading...