Last site visited

SOLVED Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Wm. Larry Powell, Dec 4, 2018.

  1. Wm. Larry Powell

    Wm. Larry Powell

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    How do I change PC going to last site visited instead of home page?
     
    Wm. Larry Powell, Dec 4, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Wm. Larry Powell

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,674
    Likes Received:
    1,852
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    It would be helpful to know in advance, which browser you are using as each top tier browser has its' own method for adjusting this behavior.

    Typically such a setting is found on the "Settings" page where you can adjust your home page to one of your choosing and then set it to open your home page upon launching the application..
    OR
    Like with "Edge" you can set your home page to a particular site which then determines the results of clicking the home page button and set your choice of "Open Microsoft Edge with:" to something different if you choose which controls what site is opened upon launch.
     
    Trouble, Dec 4, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Wm. Larry Powell

    dustywoodworker

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Arizona
    I will be watching this closely. From the brief description given, I believe I have the same question. In the past, before 1806 and maybe before 1803) when I closed a window the screen went back to a chosen homepage. Now, when I close, it returns to the last site visited. I am using Firefox with Windows 10.

    Firefox options allows me to chose the homepage contents that I want and I have done that, several times, to no avail.

    It was frustrating because I visit a particular website every morning when I first bring up the system. Now, in order to have that happen, I have to also go to that wecsite as the last thing I do before I shut down. I've been living with it because I thought it was me. Thank you for posting Wm.Larry Powell.

    I may completely out of touch on this one. If I shut down the system comes up displaying my selected home page. If I close all applications but do not shut down, the next time I click the Firefox icon, I come up where I last visited.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2018
    dustywoodworker, Dec 4, 2018
    #3
  4. Wm. Larry Powell

    Wolfie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,466
    Likes Received:
    276
    In Edge browser. Settings (3 buttons top right of the browser) > Privacy & security > Choose what to clear. Then select what you want to keep or remove after closing the browser. :):):):)

    edge browser settings.jpg
     
    Wolfie, Dec 5, 2018
    #4
  5. Wm. Larry Powell

    Wm. Larry Powell

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    My problem started after a Windows Update a few months ago. If I disconnect from internet or shut PC down for the night, when I go back online, it goes to last page visited. I have home page listed in both settings and advanced settings.
     
    Wm. Larry Powell, Dec 6, 2018
    #5
  6. Wm. Larry Powell

    davehc

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3,991
    Likes Received:
    764
    Location:
    Denmark
    As Trouble asked - Which browser are you using?
     
    davehc, Dec 6, 2018
    #6
  7. Wm. Larry Powell

    Wm. Larry Powell

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trouble, I am using MS Edge. Home page is listed in both settings and advanced settings. The main times it takes me to last page visited is after PC has been shut down for the night.
     
    Wm. Larry Powell, Dec 6, 2018
    #7
  8. Wm. Larry Powell

    Wm. Larry Powell

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have button to "OFF" position in "clear browsing history when exiting" because it's easier to just click home button when I first go online.
     
    Wm. Larry Powell, Dec 6, 2018
    #8
  9. Wm. Larry Powell

    davehc

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3,991
    Likes Received:
    764
    Location:
    Denmark
    I have this in my records, for an earlier release of Windows 10, but it should still work:
    Type regedit in the search and select it ( regedit )from the options

    Navigate to:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\NlaSvc\Parameters\Internet\
    Double Click on EnableActiveProbing
    Change the Value from 1 to 0
    And then restart the computer
     
    davehc, Dec 6, 2018
    #9
  10. Wm. Larry Powell

    Wm. Larry Powell

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    thanks, I will try it.
     
    Wm. Larry Powell, Dec 6, 2018
    #10
  11. Wm. Larry Powell

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,674
    Likes Received:
    1,852
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    I believe what that is describing is what Microsoft calls a "feature" (Timeline) .

    It used to be tucked away under a Cortana setting called "Pick up where I left off"
    Now it seems to be located in Settings -> Privacy -> Activity History with a couple check boxes.
    Try going there and clearing the check box that says "Store my activity history on this device"

    Capture.PNG
     
    Trouble, Dec 6, 2018
    #11
  12. Wm. Larry Powell

    Wm. Larry Powell

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
     
    Wm. Larry Powell, Dec 6, 2018
    #12
  13. Wm. Larry Powell

    Wm. Larry Powell

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    davehc, I have followed your instructions , restarted, and pc went to home page. Thanks.
     
    Wm. Larry Powell, Dec 6, 2018
    #13
  14. Wm. Larry Powell

    davehc

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3,991
    Likes Received:
    764
    Location:
    Denmark
    Ok. Credit to Trouble also. I think his suggestion might probaby have made the asme adjustment to the registry.
    Anyway. Hope it continues to work for you.
     
    davehc, Dec 6, 2018
    #14
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.