Looking for some advice on the .ico files used in Windows 10

Regedit32

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I've been working on a new PowerShell Tutorial which will include a new GUI which allows a user to Explore their Files and Directories, and drag 'n' drop them into a ListBox for easy exporting of file paths to a .txt file.

Screen shot below expanded to C:\Users\Regedit32\Pictures

Untitled.png

As you can see the .ico in screen shot are familiar but not truly representative of the Directories in view or the files in view.

Hence this thread - I'm not really a graphics expert by any stretch of one's imagination, so am after some advice on simple tools that can allow me to open the various Assemblies [.dll files] that contain the .ico files Windows 10 uses, so I can adjust my Script to make use of them - the intention being to make my file exploring panel, look like Windows 10's File Explorer.

I'm also wanting to create a some custom icons for the Form's title bar, and again, would appreciate advice on the simplest way to go about this [ i.e. good software for achieving this, and some pointers to any articles/blogs that explain how to use the tool to create an .ico file ].

Regards,

Regedit32

Reaction score
Regedit Not my area of expertise. I just wish I could help you for a change, just once.

Regedit32

Reaction score
No worries Norton :)

That data member was seriously into the graphics; maybe he'll see the thread - he tidied up my two eyes in the dark for me *lol*

I can always hit Google if all else fails, but hoping someone has some experience to save me wasting time downloading software and trying to learn it for what amounts to a tiny project.

If all else fails I'll just code another script to disassemble the Windows DLLs that store these icons - but then my Tutorial will turn into a bonus part while I attempt to explain how that works :eek: