regservr32 using 38% of CPU


Joined
Jun 14, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Found out is was C:\Windows\System32\Tasks\D3E0B680-6C27-84C8-80D6-194FAA347F7F\\
This was in my task scheduler with the name : D3E0B680-6C27-84C8-80D6-194FAA347F7F and multiple triggers
1. At user login
2 repeat at 03:00:00 for 1 day

It executes: C:\WINDOWS\SysWOW64\regsvr32.exe /n /s /i:"/5fdf2954816d9acc /q" "C:\PROGRA~3\2B1EB0~1\{F6771~1." C:\PROGRA~3\2B1EB0~1\

Never saw the High CPU until today.
I disabled the task with no noticable problems yet.
Does anyone know what this is?

Len
 
Ad

Advertisements

Regedit32

Moderator
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
3,214
Reaction score
1,000
Hmm interesting question.

The trigger C:\Progra~1 ought to open in File Explorer to C:\ProgramData

At that location you must have a sub-directory listed named 2B1EB0~1 or something to that affect.

If you opened File Explorer, and in its addressbar pasted C:\Progra~3\2B1EB0~1 then pressed enter key you ought to navigate to the directory and be able to determine what program is being called on with your Scheduled Task.

My guess is you have installed a third party application that has set up a scheduled task. The regsrv32 belongs to Windows and is normally used to registry dynamic library links belonging to a particular application. Once registered there should be no need to re-register them, hence my opening comment: ' Interesting question '
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Thanks for your input. I did as you suggested but there was no subdirectory 2B1EB0~1 or anything close. I restored a backup from last week and I will monitor the task scheduler to see if anything strange pops up.
 

Regedit32

Moderator
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
3,214
Reaction score
1,000
Fair enough.

I wonder whether its a ' hidden directory '.

Intriguing nevertheless.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Yeah but I already had show hidden and system files turned on in explorer.
As you said "Intriguing"
 

Regedit32

Moderator
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
3,214
Reaction score
1,000
Just wondering, if you use the first layer trigger only: i.e. c:\progra~3 what directories do you see listed?

This is what I see on mine:

sample.png
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Here is mine
Tachyon is a vestige and only contains log files,Caphyon is for NORDVPN, and Ioffsvc contains only a txt file
Programdata.jpg
 

Regedit32

Moderator
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
3,214
Reaction score
1,000
Well you've clearly installed a few more things than me.

I guess at some time you've removed something that left behind an old task. Whatever that was, anyone's guess.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 14, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Well you've clearly installed a few more things than me.

I guess at some time you've removed something that left behind an old task. Whatever that was, anyone's guess.
Thanks for your interest and help
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top