SOLVED Snip & Sketch


Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
4,517
Reaction score
878
By now, I am sure all have heard the the old "snipping Tool" is to be replaced by "Snip & Sketch", which is already sitting in the start menu. It needs a little relearning.
But, I was wandering through the settings, and found an entry I had not previously noticed. Under Ease of Access - Keyboard you can see, as in my picture. If you mark this facility on, from then on, whenever you press the PrntScn key, the snip function is available. I am sure many have already found it, but thought I would pass it on.

9943
 
Ad

Advertisements

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
12,391
Reaction score
1,992
I like it. Thanks for the tip.
Never noticed it before, but....
In my defense, I still use the old snipping tool although this might tip me over into using the new offering.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
4,517
Reaction score
878
I echo you feelings. Determination made me keep using the new tool —I,m ok with it now
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2014
Messages
1,224
Reaction score
238
I saw that the other day and debated whether I wanted to try it as I usually paste print screens in to Irfanview. But I'm willing to give it a shot.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
4,517
Reaction score
878
Just an add_ You can also press the window Key +Shift +s and grab any part of the screen
 

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
12,391
Reaction score
1,992
I find very little use for the Full Screen capture...
I much prefer the "Window" snip available in the old program.
I have two monitors and I rarely if ever need a capture of what's on both monitors, but.....
I am often producing images of a single Window that is open and while I know the Rectangle snip would handle it, I think it's way more convenient to just click and open Window rather than tracing the external edges with a rectangle selection tool.
Besides
IF I ever what a "Full Screen" snip, the Windows Logo key and the Print Screen key in combination still works fine for that.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
4,517
Reaction score
878
There is, of course, a rectangle snip in the new tool?
 

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
12,391
Reaction score
1,992
And in the old tool.
I am often producing images of a single Window that is open and while I know the Rectangle snip would handle it, I think it's way more convenient to just click and open Window rather than tracing the external edges with a rectangle selection tool.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
1,615
Reaction score
553
Great tip, I didn't know about this, but it will save me a lot of time :)!
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top