Windows 10 Update Assistant Cannot Run On Windows


Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
16
Reaction score
0
This bizarre notification keeps popping up every few minutes, which is really irritating. Latest build of Win 10, but this error has survived the last three updates.

In the same message, it suggests that I update the Update Assistant to a version which runs on Windows!

I uninstalled the Update Assistant but keep getting the same error.

Does anybody have any idea how I can get rid of this annoying notification?

Many thanks!

Andy
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
1,603
Reaction score
548
Any chance you could take a screenshot of the popup and upload it here please?
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
16
Reaction score
0
Hi Ian, thanks for your reply. Yes, next time it rears its irritating head, I'll get a screenshot.

Much appreciated

Andy
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
1,603
Reaction score
548
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
16
Reaction score
0
Hi Ian, no joy I'm afraid. I have nothing in Startup. I have uninstalled and reinstalled the Assistant three times and it makes no difference. I've hunted through the registry in case there's a corrupt key, but cannot find anything. I still get the notification. Do you perchance have any other ideas?

Many thanks!

Andy.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
4,447
Reaction score
865
A couple of thoughts!
See if you have a folder in the Windows folder, with that nane (Windows Update assistant) If so, move it somehwere-Dont delete it yet.
Also, have look through the task manager running processes, and , if you se any associted programs, disable them.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
16
Reaction score
0
Hi Dave, thanks - much appreciated! Funnily enough, I do have a folder in Windows called "Update Assistant" (see attached). I think, though, that was created when I uninstalled the Assistant and downloaded it again - in other words, I don't think the folder was there when the problem started.

I don't see any related processes in task manager though. Cheers!

Andy.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
4,447
Reaction score
865
Ok. You decision, but, I eould both both of those to a temp folder. I dont have either, and have no update problems,
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
16
Reaction score
0
I've actually deleted the folder and am still getting the notification, so I guess it wasn't related to the problem. Thanks Dave.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
16
Reaction score
0
Hi both. Trouble - thanks, but I'd already found that page - no joy.
Dave - looks more promising. However, when I try to disable the Assistant options you listed, it tells me I don't have permissions, even though I'm using an Admin account and running Task scheduler as Adminstrator!
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
4,447
Reaction score
865
Right. Here we go. You can get permissions through a tortuous manual process, but, for a better life - lol - you can run this program. One part is to enable, the other to disable. After you have run it (accept the questions) you can right click files and folders and you will see the option to take ownership. Doesn't always work with one or two system files, burt should work with what you need.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
16
Reaction score
0
Dave, I am very, very grateful for your help and your time. I've added the "Add" registry key but the option is not appearing on the context menu. I am right-clicking on the options in the Update Orchestrator you listed above. Do you think it will appear after a restart? Many thanks.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
4,447
Reaction score
865
It should appear immediately. But, Maybe I am pursuing the wrong thing here. What is the "Update Orchestrator" you say I have listed?
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top