Can't connect to Group Policy Client service

SOLVED Discussion in 'Windows 10 Support' started by Louie, Sep 14, 2015.

  1. Louie

    Jennifer Crippen

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks @windowsmith for your nicely detailed explaination of the problem and your resolution. I experienced the Chrome, Windows Update, Group Policy Client can't connect error and attempted other suggested fixed that did not solve the probem. The part that seemed to work for me was disabling the "turn on fast startup".

    I would mention that for me after completing this I executed a Shutdown and that process took about 1.5 hours and it seems like it actually did a restart, even though I selected Shutdown. On my first login there was an almost immediate shutdown on it's own. Then on my second login, which maybe took a little longer, everything looked good: no error message, I was able to see the Windows update in settings, Chrome opened immediately and I further verified that Group Policy Client was in fact "Running" - YEAH!
     
    Jennifer Crippen, May 21, 2016
    #61
    1. Advertisements

  2. Louie

    Baracus800

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Again, thanks @windowsmith I had this problem on a brand new HP Pavillion. Another symptom I experienced was that I was unable to even create a New Folder within my documents.

    I used this fix:
    Right click on the start menu button
    -Click on command promt (admin
    )
    - type "netsh" and press enter
    - type "winsock reset" and press enter
    - restart your computer

    One thing to note though for anyone needing to do this - it took my 3 week old laptop 2 and 3/4 hours to restart! I was convinced it wasn't working, but in the end I'm glad I stuck with the process.

    Thanks again - I wouldn't have a clue what to do without the help of this forum.
     
    Baracus800, Jun 2, 2016
    #62
    1. Advertisements

  3. Louie

    Michaeltx

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Saginaw, TX
    I tried right clicking start then selecting system. Nothing happens. what's next ?
     
    Michaeltx, Jun 2, 2016
    #63
  4. Louie

    Michaeltx

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Saginaw, TX
    >>> disregard last message <<<<
     
    Michaeltx, Jun 2, 2016
    #64
  5. Louie

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    10,602
    Likes Received:
    1,622
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    Can you launch the "Run" dialog box, either by right clicking the Start Button and choosing "Run" from the context menu or by
    Holding the Windows Logo key and striking the "r" key on your keyboard?
    IF so in the run dialog box type
    sysdm.cpl
    hit enter or click OK
     
    Trouble, Jun 2, 2016
    #65
  6. Louie

    Michaeltx

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Saginaw, TX
    I tried you suggestion of holding the Window key + r and did get the dialog box and typed sysdm.cpl and clicked ok and it rolled ove to nothing. I saw the blue circle then nothing. I aslo tried to right click on the pc short cut and then from the windows icon in the lower left hand but nothing happened. While signed in as administrator, I get a time out error. I have previously gotten into services/applications but not today. O great noob whisperer what now ?
     
    Michaeltx, Jun 3, 2016
    #66
  7. Louie

    Michaeltx

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Saginaw, TX
    I tried your suggestion of System Restore and on 5/26/16 was available. Shouldn't there be a date before this? Ok what's next?
     
    Michaeltx, Jun 6, 2016
    #67
  8. Louie

    farm

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,
    i just got this error myself and for my system the fix was:
    ctrl+alt+del - startup tab - enable microsoft onedrive - restart computer
    (a few weeks ago i turned microsoft onedrive service off / disabled from auto startup in an attempt to boot faster.)

    hope that helps somebody
     
    farm, Jun 11, 2016
    #68
  9. Louie

    Stumplstltskn

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh man! Thank you so very much! I'm financially strapped at the moment and was worried that the new laptop I got for work was defective which, exchanges and all that are a pain to deal with. I tried this fix and so far so good!
     
    Stumplstltskn, Jun 12, 2016
    #69
  10. Louie

    windowsmith

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    17
    Sorry for the very late reply, I have been using my computer rather than trying to fix it!!
    I would say this adds weight to my theory that this problem only happens for certain software / hardware combinations, but I think only the only way to know why it happen would be for someone to take apart the fast startup code. Obviously Microsoft should do this but I won't hold my breath.
     
    windowsmith, Jun 12, 2016
    #70
  11. Louie

    Audrey Lawrence

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just want to thank Trouble for the solution to Failed To Connect To a Windows service, your suggestion fixed the problem.
     
    Audrey Lawrence, Jun 18, 2016
    #71
  12. Louie

    JamieL

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rez777 I don't know if you ever figured this out? On 1 or 2 of my computers it wasn't set up to restore. Above the drives there were 2 options; I selected the one that allowed backups (sorry - don't remember exactly what it said). Then I configured to allow about 3 GB of space for backups, and manually created a restore point (although I haven't yet fixed these problems - just testing out that part).

    I'm still waiting for effected computer #1 of 2 to get off the dang black screen (AGAIN) so I can try to fix it. I don't want to mess with the 2nd one until I fix the backup laptop...
     
    JamieL, Jul 2, 2016
    #72
  13. Louie

    RP2121

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Help! I'm having the same issue (error message "Can't connect to Group Policy Client") when I log in as a user. I logged in as an Administrator and have tried several solutions but nothing is working.

    I've tried:
    1.
    - Start
    - Settings
    - System
    - Power and sleep
    - additional power settings
    - click on "choose what the power buttons do"
    - scroll down to Shutdown settings
    - uncheck the box next to "turn on fast startup"
    - click save changes

    No luck. When I get to Shutdown Settings the "Turn on fast startup" is greyed out so I cannot click on it.

    2.
    -Right click the start button and choose system
    -From the left column choose System Protection.
    -Click the System Restore button

    When I click on System Restore nothing happens and it times out.

    3. I've also tried typing in "regedit" in the Windows search box but it timed out as well.

    This is happening on our home-based business desktop and it's completely shut down our business since I cannot log on. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you!
     
    RP2121, Jul 16, 2016
    #73
  14. Louie

    JamieL

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    With the "Turn on fast startup": when you get to the last step, if the text is greyed-out there should be a blue & yellow shield toward the top of the page. There should be text saying "Change settings that are currently unavailable". Click that & it should "un-grey" the options. Sorry, can't help with the regedit.
     
    JamieL, Jul 16, 2016
    #74
  15. Louie

    RP2121

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks JamieL...I tried that but when I click on "Change settings that are currently unavailable" the system gives me an error and times out. I think I'll have to try to take it to a computer repair place.
     
    RP2121, Jul 16, 2016
    #75
  16. Louie

    Alexandre Parks

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    I created an account simply to say that THIS method worked for me!!
    It saved me from messing around in my registry and from reformatting my operating system.

    Thank you SO much !
     
    Alexandre Parks, Jul 18, 2016
    #76
    Trouble likes this.
  17. Louie

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    10,602
    Likes Received:
    1,622
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    Welcome to the forum Alexandre and thanks for taking the time to join.
    That post seems to have helped a lot of people. Glad it worked for you as well.
     
    Trouble, Jul 18, 2016
    #77
  18. Louie

    AgedCoder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi RP2121 , if the " Change settings that are currently unavailable " option is greyed out try the following -
    Select Restart from the Start menu , PC will go through restart procedure and seem to take forever on the light blue screen with a rotating cursor. After 2 or 3 minutes when no HDD activity is evident shutdown the PC with the power button ( sustained press for about 5 second usually does it )
    Start the PC in the normal fashion and when back at the User interface you should be able navigate to the " Change settings that are currently unavailable " option which should now be available.
    This worked for me on 2 seperate PC's , I think because when you start the PC after what is essentially an incomplete shutdown procedure it takes longer to start back up before loading the user interface , giving the GPC service time to load properly (?)
    Works for me anyway , hope it helps
     
    AgedCoder, Aug 6, 2016
    #78
  19. Louie

    ilovebatz

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I too created an account just to say Thank you. This worked for me. The first solution I ran across said that I had to add "gpsvc" to a key in regedit. After adding it, I realized that Windows 10 home doesn't have the group policy editor. I came across this solution and it worked! Thanks again.
     
    ilovebatz, Aug 6, 2016
    #79
  20. Louie

    Tiernn

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just signed up to say thanks. This fixed the problem for me. I was using Chrome when I first encountered a performance issue, maybe this has something to do with it.

    I only needed to disable the fast startup and so far my laptop is working fine.

    Thanks!!
     
    Tiernn, Aug 18, 2016
    #80
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. Maheshkumar
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    22,292
    Louie
    Feb 22, 2016
  2. etaf
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    14,582
  3. RinaB
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    4,816
    Gideon
    Feb 2, 2016
  4. Jesy
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    13,054
    Louie
    Feb 22, 2016
  5. Betti

    SOLVED Failed To Connect To Group Policy Client Service

    Betti, Apr 15, 2016, in forum: Windows 10 Support
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    15,159
  6. shanklin100

    SOLVED Windows couldn't connect to Group Policy Client Service

    shanklin100, Apr 25, 2016, in forum: Windows 10 Support
    Replies:
    17
    Views:
    11,938
    Stryder
    Jun 29, 2016
  7. Kjell Eilert Svendsen
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    8,066
    Gaz47
    Jun 19, 2016
  8. John Klonaridis

    "Windows Can't connect to group policy client"

    John Klonaridis, Jul 9, 2016, in forum: Windows 10 Support
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    1,512
    John Klonaridis
    Jul 11, 2016
Loading...