SOLVED Can't tun on system protection


Joined
Jul 29, 2015
Messages
22
Reaction score
3
Just did a windows update:
Windows 10 Home (x64) Version 2004 (build 19041.508)Windows 10 Home (x64) Version 2004 (build 19041.508).

Went to check my system restores and noticed my system protection was off and my "Turn on system protection" button is grayed out and can't be turned on.
Is MS doing away with windows system restore? If not, does anyone know how to turn on
system protection?
Thanks for any advice.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
2,183
Reaction score
410
Do you have a third-party antivirus/antimalware program installed? Have seen that to be a 'feature' of such programs taking over the job.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
4,226
Reaction score
550
Is MS doing away with windows system restore? If not, does anyone know how to turn on
Hi George,

did you unintentionally install a 3rd party AV app without realising?.


And for System Restore, open Control Panel > Recovery > Configure System Restore and check your settings there.

1600236961942.png
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2015
Messages
22
Reaction score
3
I have screened for sneaky AV installs for a long time now and always reject them.

My system was installed new about a year ago and is currently running with the

following:

Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Version 4.2.0.82
Virus Definitions Version Up To Date
Last Disk Scan on Tuesday, September 15, 2020 3:21:00 AM
Realtime File Scanning On
Webroot SecureAnywhere
Virus Definitions Version Up To Date
Realtime File Scanning On
Also MS Defender.



I have been running with the above security with no problem with ‘restore settings’

until the recent windows update (Windows 10 Home (x64) Version 2004 (build 19041.508).

Tried to change restore settings with Virus turned off to no avail.

Tried to change restore settings in safe mode but that did not work.



Don’t know if it’s a factor but McAfee and Norton were pre installed by the installer last year

(unknown to me). Although I immediately uninstalled them, I notice there are many

leftover registry entries left for both. Even tried MCPR.exe McAfee cleaner but it still left

residual register entries.


Thanks to all for your advice and info.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
5,416
Reaction score
1,100
Try this. Open a command prompt (administrator) and paste in this command

%windir%\system32\rundll32.exe /d srrstr.dll,ExecuteScheduledSPPCreation
It may be, as hinted, a confliction with you many defense utilities, but worth a try
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jul 29, 2015
Messages
22
Reaction score
3
Try this. Open a command prompt (administrator) and paste in this command

%windir%\system32\rundll32.exe /d srrstr.dll,ExecuteScheduledSPPCreation
It may be, as hinted, a confliction with you many defense utilities, but worth a try
Thanks davehc,
tried the above and got "object not found" message, attached.
Don't really know what all that means but thanks for the try.
 

Attachments

Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
5,416
Reaction score
1,100
Sorry, I am using an ipad right now, so cant give you snip, but, as you were already in sys32, you did not need the initial part of the command. Best I can do is start the paste from, and including, “
rund”
 

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
13,012
Reaction score
2,213
IF you're up for it...
Have a look at the following registry keys
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows NT\SystemRestore
Capture.PNG


AND
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\SPP\Clients
Capture1.PNG


NOTE: Boilerplate disclaimer
Using the Windows Registry Editor can cause serious, system-wide problems that may require you to re-install Windows to correct them. It cannot be guaranteed that any problems resulting from the use of the Windows Registry Editor can be solved. If you choose to edit the Windows Registry please understand that you do so at your own risk so unless you feel fairly comfortable and confident you should probably not use the Editor. Changes made to the Windows Registry can take effect immediately and those that do not will take effect following the next reboot of your computer, and a current backup is not automatically made for you....So manually create a system restore point, backup the registry and export the key you are editing for safe keeping before doing so.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2015
Messages
22
Reaction score
3
Thanks for your input Trouble. I've received great advice from you before.
As of now I didn't see any System Restore in the registry e.g.
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows NT\SystemRestore .
See attach.
Will per sue this further tomorrow when I can, hoping to hear from you.
I have Acronis and Windows system image backups so I think I have time to resolve this.
Thanks for your help.
reg entry system restore.jpg
 
Ad

Advertisements

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
13,012
Reaction score
2,213
Try this and see if it helps at all.
Click the start button (windows logo) and type
cmd
You should see it at the top of the resultant search list, right click it and choose Run As Administrator from the context menu.
In the Admin Command Prompt window type
reg.exe add "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\SPP\Clients" /v " {09F7EDC5-294E-4180-AF6A-FB0E6A0E9513}" /t REG_MULTI_SZ /d "1" /f
hit enter
You should see a message in the command prompt window "The operation completed successfully"
Reboot and see if that had any impact on the system.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2015
Messages
22
Reaction score
3
Many,many thanks Trouble. I ran that spectacular CMD you sent me,
AND IT WORKED. I am amazed. You are the best.
Attached are proof of it working. Still have no idea why the system got that way.
 

Attachments

Ad

Advertisements

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
13,012
Reaction score
2,213
You're very welcome, glad it worked out, now....
IF you would, please mark your thread as "Solved" as it may help others in the future.
Still have no idea why the system got that way.
Me either :)
It's a pretty rare issue but has been around since Windows 7 at least.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top