Anyone seen the new build upgrade (1809) yet?

SOLVED Discussion in 'Installation, Setup and Updates' started by Saltgrass, Oct 2, 2018.

  1. Saltgrass

    dustywoodworker

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Arizona
    Maybe a dumb question but I must ask. Why download to an ISO rather than to a flash drive? I thought with a flash drive I could go direct into the applications.

    Thanks for be patient with me. I do appreciate!!
     
    dustywoodworker, Nov 14, 2018
    1. Advertisements

  2. Saltgrass

    clifford_cooley

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,269
    Likes Received:
    244
    Location:
    Arkansas
    There is an option to mount the ISO and install the update from within Windows. I always like installing from the installation media at boot. It avoids some possibilities of failure the OS could present.
     
    clifford_cooley, Nov 14, 2018
    1. Advertisements

  3. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    256
    If you build a flash drive, the files have to download to that slow medium. If you download the .iso, it downloads at full speed all you have to do is mount the image and copy the files over, much faster.

    I also reuse my flash drives so I don't have to go through the process of setting them up again, just remove old files and add new ones.
     
    Saltgrass, Nov 14, 2018
    Trouble likes this.
  4. Saltgrass

    clifford_cooley

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,269
    Likes Received:
    244
    Location:
    Arkansas
    That is assuming their ISP connection is faster than the device. That definitely is not the case here.
     
    clifford_cooley, Nov 14, 2018
    Trouble likes this.
  5. Saltgrass

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,765
    Likes Received:
    1,873
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    I've also had that experience. I thought that the hard drive had locked and that, that accounted for what I was seeing on the screen.
    Turns out I was wrong..... AGAIN!

    I've adopted a get up and walk away posture, so....
    I go make a sandwich or a pot of coffee, walk out and get the mail, whatever
    Just to keep me from making things worse instead of better which I'm pretty much famous for.
     
    Trouble, Nov 14, 2018
  6. Saltgrass

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,765
    Likes Received:
    1,873
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    IN addition to what's been mentioned above.....
    It's become more or less a habit to me, to have the ISO on hand.
    Back in the day, before 64 bit became so ubiquitous, I would often generate both 32 and 64 bit installation media separately. Now you can host them both in the same ISO and on the same installation media, but....
    I still find myself generating installation media for older MBR / Legacy BIOS systems separate from GPT / UEFI systems.

    It just seems more convenient to keep the ISO on hand.
    With kids, grandkids and friends like mine you never know when one of my Thumb Drives will sprout legs.
    Being able generate installation media from the ISO in a few minutes onto a new medium is just handy.
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2018
    Trouble, Nov 14, 2018
  7. Saltgrass

    clifford_cooley

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,269
    Likes Received:
    244
    Location:
    Arkansas
    When my blood starts to boil, I have to do so. Otherwise I'm replacing parts soon.
     
    clifford_cooley, Nov 14, 2018
    Trouble likes this.
  8. Saltgrass

    Norton

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2,826
    Likes Received:
    621
    Same here patience is the key!, Today I used the first release 1809 ISO and CU KB4467708 to bring my second machine from 1803 back into the real world, all went like clockwork. However, I did get a scare. When I came back to check the progress I had a black screen. :eek:
    I sat staring at the black screen for what seemed like hours, after moving the mouse I was greeted with the welcome screen :)
     
    Norton, Nov 15, 2018
    Trouble likes this.
  9. Saltgrass

    Grizzly

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,390
    Likes Received:
    364
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I always create an ISO first, then make a flash drive from it. The reason I do that way is this: If I make a flash drive directly from the MCT, the flash drive will be in FAT32 formatted and therefore has the same restrictions (especially when you name the drive, you are restricted to max 11 characters). With my converter program I do not have these restrictions as I can choose which format I use (I usually use NTFS) cause when named the drive does not have the 11 character restrictions. I usually name them according to the system that is on it like "1809.17763.134".
    Even if I want to upgrade, I'd rather use the ISO as I can mount it in a virtual DVD drive cause the data transfer is faster than a flash drive.
    This is just my reasoning on how to use the MCT...
     
    Grizzly, Nov 15, 2018
    Trouble likes this.
  10. Saltgrass

    Bighorn

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    168
    I use the MCT process to get both the USB drive for both x86 and x64 and the .iso file for both x86 and x64. Then I use a DVD+R/DL disc to burn the .iso onto. Doing both options gives me more flexibility when working with clients' computers.
     
    Bighorn, Nov 15, 2018
  11. Saltgrass

    BigFeet

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,023
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Syracuse
    I always save the iso on to my external hdd, in case I need it down the road. I can burn it to dvd or a flash drive whenever I need it.
     
    BigFeet, Nov 15, 2018
  12. Saltgrass

    Bighorn

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    168
    If you look at the files and Folders on both types they are pretty much the same and both types of media are bootable. The USB has to be formatted as FAT32 [done during the process] so as to be bootable in any PC.
     
    Bighorn, Nov 15, 2018
  13. Saltgrass

    Wolfie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,519
    Likes Received:
    280
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2018
    Wolfie, Nov 15, 2018
    Trouble likes this.
  14. Saltgrass

    Wolfie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,519
    Likes Received:
    280
    Wolfie, Nov 15, 2018
  15. Saltgrass

    davehc

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4,033
    Likes Received:
    773
    Location:
    Denmark
    davehc, Nov 16, 2018
  16. Saltgrass

    clifford_cooley

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,269
    Likes Received:
    244
    Location:
    Arkansas
    That is a short list. I think there was a few details left out.
     
    clifford_cooley, Nov 16, 2018
  17. Saltgrass

    davehc

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4,033
    Likes Received:
    773
    Location:
    Denmark
    IMHO. 7MS
    There is a limit, to how long you can go on patching. Windows has been undergoing this process since Vista.
    Time they got some REAL programmers and rewrote the OS. (Oh. Woops! Already done! I think it is called Linux.
     
    davehc, Nov 16, 2018
  18. Saltgrass

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,765
    Likes Received:
    1,873
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    The first one is likely linked to their continuous meddling with the network stack, seems a vicious fix / break cycle
    Second, third party software program
    Third, third party hardware
     
    Trouble, Nov 16, 2018
  19. Saltgrass

    Bif

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,156
    Likes Received:
    435
    Got it this morning and aside from the usual issues with Defender definitions via WU all seems to have went without a hitch ( hope I don't eat those words )..touch everything made of wood in my general vicinity.
    Now I run "the latest and greatest" (again)...until the next debacle at least.

    Capture.JPG
     
    Bif, Nov 16, 2018
    Trouble likes this.
  20. Saltgrass

    Comp Cmndo

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    39
    That is not true, internet BS. NTFS will boot, Rufus has a writeup about this.
    https://github.com/pbatard/rufus/wiki/FAQ
    Scroll down until you see this title.
    Blah UEFI Blah FAT32, therefore Rufus should Blah!
    Okay, let's just start by getting this out of the way:

    WHAT YOU HAVE READ ON THE INTERNET IS WRONG.

    NO, UEFI does NOT force the use of FAT32 for boot.....
     
    Comp Cmndo, Nov 16, 2018
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.