SOLVED Anyone seen the new build upgrade (1809) yet?


Ad

Advertisements

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
11,970
Reaction score
1,897
I have to acknowledge their audacity....
It's almost mid-November and they have decided to stick with October Release.

I assume everything is right with the world in regards to Builds and Versions.
My main machine got a cumulative update today as well as my Insider Preview machine that was still on the Release Preview Ring (which is like the kiddie pool of the Insider Program, slower than the slow ring).

Both are now running 1809 / 17763.134

Capture2.PNG


They also decided today to make the ISO available again, which I assume (hopefully) provides the same 17763.134 build number and we can all join in a rousing chorus of kumbaya
 

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
11,970
Reaction score
1,897
They also decided today to make the ISO available again, which I assume (hopefully) provides the same 17763.134 build number and we can all join in a rousing chorus of kumbaya
Well I guess that was too much to hope for.

Capture.PNG


So if you performed a clean install with this ISO you'd need an immediate update to..... todays cumulative update.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2014
Messages
1,291
Reaction score
245
Can we use the initial build 17763.1 and then update to 17763.134? I have the initial download and don't really want to download again. I haven't installed the build yet. I've been waiting for the repaired release.
 

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
11,970
Reaction score
1,897
That's what I'm doing on my main machine. I downloaded, wiped my drive and clean installed from the ISO that they released (evidently by mistake) a couple three weeks ago and that's what I'm currently running, which was updated today with the "Tuesday" Update to .134
Probably important to note I didn't experience any of the problems associated with that brief release which caused them to pull it down quickly.

I've no plans of changing at this point.
BUT
IF for some reason I had to perform a new install going forward I would definitely grab the new offering with the Media Creation Tool as of today.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
4,195
Reaction score
809
My group here were the lucky bunch who were succesful, without bugs, when the original was posted in the updates. - This changed the build to .134.

Last night, I had an accumulative update downloading. It took a while, and needed a restart as usual.
The end product was …………….134

Capture.GIF
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2014
Messages
1,117
Reaction score
199
I had no issue with the original release on 3 of my PC's. Already having issues with this. During the install phase it blue screened/froze. Had to do a hard shutdown. Restarted and went to updates and it said needed to restart. So far, so good. Hopefully it completes the install without any more issues.
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
121
Reaction score
9
Too much info that I don't understand. I am operating with 1803. Update says I am current. But, because of something I read here I downloaded to a USB flash something that appears to be 1809 related. Don't recall the exact title. Something like Windows 10 Upgrade Assist.

I'm fearful of installing it. I don't have the computer skills to recover if something goes wrong.

I did snip this before I backed out.. I did go one step further but no snip:
Capture.get important updates.PNG
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
121
Reaction score
9
I used XP for years and never had any serious problems that I did not create. Then I voluntarily upgrades to Windows 7. What a mistake. I had nothing but trouble beginning with the first installation attempt. Once I got it working (with help from my Grandson) I declared that I WOULD NEVER UPGRADE AGAIN.

Well multiple hardware failures in my old computers changed that. My two new(er) machines have Windows 10. One in a factory install and the other an upgrade. Both now have 1803 and seem to be working OKAY except that I lost access to my workgroup,

Now there is 1809.....
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
2,519
Reaction score
280
Just for Info, the upgrade tool for 1809 isn't working, I needed a copy of 1809 this morning but it returned with an error message, this was a direct download from the MS web-page!.

Click on the "Download tool now" button, that works and it downloads but when you try to run it, it returns the error message!:

https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/software-download/windows10 :(:(:(
 

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
11,970
Reaction score
1,897
I needed a copy of 1809 this morning but it returned with an error message, this was a direct download from the MS web-page!.
At what point did you encounter the error.
I just tried it again this morning and it seemed to work as expected

Capture1.PNG
 

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
11,970
Reaction score
1,897
Both now have 1803 and seem to be working OKAY except that I lost access to my workgroup,
Personally, IF I were you, I would wait until the 1809 Upgrade was offered directly to your individual computers via the normal Windows Update process in "Settings".
I wouldn't rush to Upgrade if my computers were working fine AND....
Too much info that I don't understand
I wasn't confident in my personal skill set to recover from a possible disaster.

IN the mean time, I would look into something like
AOEMI BackUpper http://www.backup-utility.com/
EaseUS ToDo http://www.easeus.com/backup-software/tb-free.html
OR one of the other Backup / Imaging tools available to make sure I protected my installation and critical data.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2014
Messages
1,117
Reaction score
199
I used XP for years and never had any serious problems that I did not create. Then I voluntarily upgrades to Windows 7. What a mistake. I had nothing but trouble beginning with the first installation attempt. Once I got it working (with help from my Grandson) I declared that I WOULD NEVER UPGRADE AGAIN.

Well multiple hardware failures in my old computers changed that. My two new(er) machines have Windows 10. One in a factory install and the other an upgrade. Both now have 1803 and seem to be working OKAY except that I lost access to my workgroup,

Now there is 1809.....
I would wait until 1809 is offered in your Windows Updates. Most people will have no issues with it. The one I did last night was on an Insider Edition that I hadn't updated in a while. These major version updates come out twice a year, so you have to kind of get used to them.
 

Bif

Joined
Oct 17, 2015
Messages
1,161
Reaction score
438
I will also be waiting for it to come via WU...
"Good things" come to those who wait...:confused:
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
4,195
Reaction score
809
Maybe it was only on my computers (All Dells), but, a warning. After the reboot I return to a black screen with the spinner in the middle. Then the spinner vanished. It was a while - maybe as much as a minute, - before it all returned and booted up to the desktop.
 

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
11,970
Reaction score
1,897
I've seen this more than once and not just on Dells.
There is a time I think, where the install is simultaneously attempting to install a graphics driver while it is also trying to get all the other bits and bobs sorted, that have changed as a result of the install.
This seems to result in a scary black screen with nothing much going on, which seems to last longer than normal but....
IF your machine is equipped with a hard disk activity light you can see that it's still hard at work.

That's the time where some applied patience comes in handy.
"Good things" come to those who wait
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
4,195
Reaction score
809
That is exactly it. Patience required. There was so much activity that, to double the terror, the hard disk light looked as though it had ceased to function, just one continuous red glow!
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Feb 22, 2014
Messages
1,291
Reaction score
245
I will also be waiting for it to come via WU...
"Good things" come to those who wait...:confused:
I've got too many machines to wait for them all to start downloading from WU. Sadly if I had the bandwidth to handle such congestion, I would wait. I'm just hanging tight a day or two making sure the other shoe doesn't drop and the release is fine to go.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top