Anyone seen the new build upgrade (1809) yet?

SOLVED Discussion in 'Installation, Setup and Updates' started by Saltgrass, Oct 2, 2018.

  1. Saltgrass

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,765
    Likes Received:
    1,873
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    Trouble, Nov 13, 2018
    1. Advertisements

  2. Saltgrass

    clifford_cooley

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,269
    Likes Received:
    244
    Location:
    Arkansas
    It certainly is way passed due.
     
    clifford_cooley, Nov 13, 2018
    1. Advertisements

  3. Saltgrass

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,765
    Likes Received:
    1,873
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    I have to acknowledge their audacity....
    It's almost mid-November and they have decided to stick with October Release.

    I assume everything is right with the world in regards to Builds and Versions.
    My main machine got a cumulative update today as well as my Insider Preview machine that was still on the Release Preview Ring (which is like the kiddie pool of the Insider Program, slower than the slow ring).

    Both are now running 1809 / 17763.134

    Capture2.PNG

    They also decided today to make the ISO available again, which I assume (hopefully) provides the same 17763.134 build number and we can all join in a rousing chorus of kumbaya
     
    Trouble, Nov 13, 2018
  4. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    256
    Mine all agree also and the original install was the 17763.107 version
     
    Saltgrass, Nov 13, 2018
    Trouble likes this.
  5. Saltgrass

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,765
    Likes Received:
    1,873
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    Well I guess that was too much to hope for.

    Capture.PNG

    So if you performed a clean install with this ISO you'd need an immediate update to..... todays cumulative update.
     
    Trouble, Nov 13, 2018
  6. Saltgrass

    clifford_cooley

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,269
    Likes Received:
    244
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Can we use the initial build 17763.1 and then update to 17763.134? I have the initial download and don't really want to download again. I haven't installed the build yet. I've been waiting for the repaired release.
     
    clifford_cooley, Nov 13, 2018
  7. Saltgrass

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,765
    Likes Received:
    1,873
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    That's what I'm doing on my main machine. I downloaded, wiped my drive and clean installed from the ISO that they released (evidently by mistake) a couple three weeks ago and that's what I'm currently running, which was updated today with the "Tuesday" Update to .134
    Probably important to note I didn't experience any of the problems associated with that brief release which caused them to pull it down quickly.

    I've no plans of changing at this point.
    BUT
    IF for some reason I had to perform a new install going forward I would definitely grab the new offering with the Media Creation Tool as of today.
     
    Trouble, Nov 13, 2018
  8. Saltgrass

    davehc

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4,033
    Likes Received:
    773
    Location:
    Denmark
    My group here were the lucky bunch who were succesful, without bugs, when the original was posted in the updates. - This changed the build to .134.

    Last night, I had an accumulative update downloading. It took a while, and needed a restart as usual.
    The end product was …………….134

    Capture.GIF
     
    davehc, Nov 14, 2018
  9. Saltgrass

    BigFeet

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,023
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Syracuse
    I had no issue with the original release on 3 of my PC's. Already having issues with this. During the install phase it blue screened/froze. Had to do a hard shutdown. Restarted and went to updates and it said needed to restart. So far, so good. Hopefully it completes the install without any more issues.
     
    BigFeet, Nov 14, 2018
  10. Saltgrass

    dustywoodworker

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Arizona
    Too much info that I don't understand. I am operating with 1803. Update says I am current. But, because of something I read here I downloaded to a USB flash something that appears to be 1809 related. Don't recall the exact title. Something like Windows 10 Upgrade Assist.

    I'm fearful of installing it. I don't have the computer skills to recover if something goes wrong.

    I did snip this before I backed out.. I did go one step further but no snip: Capture.get important updates.PNG
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2018
    dustywoodworker, Nov 14, 2018
  11. Saltgrass

    dustywoodworker

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Arizona
    I used XP for years and never had any serious problems that I did not create. Then I voluntarily upgrades to Windows 7. What a mistake. I had nothing but trouble beginning with the first installation attempt. Once I got it working (with help from my Grandson) I declared that I WOULD NEVER UPGRADE AGAIN.

    Well multiple hardware failures in my old computers changed that. My two new(er) machines have Windows 10. One in a factory install and the other an upgrade. Both now have 1803 and seem to be working OKAY except that I lost access to my workgroup,

    Now there is 1809.....
     
    dustywoodworker, Nov 14, 2018
  12. Saltgrass

    Wolfie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,519
    Likes Received:
    280
    Just for Info, the upgrade tool for 1809 isn't working, I needed a copy of 1809 this morning but it returned with an error message, this was a direct download from the MS web-page!.

    Click on the "Download tool now" button, that works and it downloads but when you try to run it, it returns the error message!:

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/software-download/windows10 :(:(:(
     
    Wolfie, Nov 14, 2018
  13. Saltgrass

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,765
    Likes Received:
    1,873
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    At what point did you encounter the error.
    I just tried it again this morning and it seemed to work as expected

    Capture1.PNG
     
    Trouble, Nov 14, 2018
  14. Saltgrass

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,765
    Likes Received:
    1,873
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    Personally, IF I were you, I would wait until the 1809 Upgrade was offered directly to your individual computers via the normal Windows Update process in "Settings".
    I wouldn't rush to Upgrade if my computers were working fine AND....
    I wasn't confident in my personal skill set to recover from a possible disaster.

    IN the mean time, I would look into something like
    AOEMI BackUpper http://www.backup-utility.com/
    EaseUS ToDo http://www.easeus.com/backup-software/tb-free.html
    OR one of the other Backup / Imaging tools available to make sure I protected my installation and critical data.
     
    Trouble, Nov 14, 2018
  15. Saltgrass

    BigFeet

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,023
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Syracuse
    I would wait until 1809 is offered in your Windows Updates. Most people will have no issues with it. The one I did last night was on an Insider Edition that I hadn't updated in a while. These major version updates come out twice a year, so you have to kind of get used to them.
     
    BigFeet, Nov 14, 2018
  16. Saltgrass

    Bif

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,156
    Likes Received:
    435
    I will also be waiting for it to come via WU...
    "Good things" come to those who wait...:confused:
     
    Bif, Nov 14, 2018
  17. Saltgrass

    davehc

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4,033
    Likes Received:
    773
    Location:
    Denmark
    Maybe it was only on my computers (All Dells), but, a warning. After the reboot I return to a black screen with the spinner in the middle. Then the spinner vanished. It was a while - maybe as much as a minute, - before it all returned and booted up to the desktop.
     
    davehc, Nov 14, 2018
  18. Saltgrass

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,765
    Likes Received:
    1,873
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    I've seen this more than once and not just on Dells.
    There is a time I think, where the install is simultaneously attempting to install a graphics driver while it is also trying to get all the other bits and bobs sorted, that have changed as a result of the install.
    This seems to result in a scary black screen with nothing much going on, which seems to last longer than normal but....
    IF your machine is equipped with a hard disk activity light you can see that it's still hard at work.

    That's the time where some applied patience comes in handy.
     
    Trouble, Nov 14, 2018
  19. Saltgrass

    davehc

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4,033
    Likes Received:
    773
    Location:
    Denmark
    That is exactly it. Patience required. There was so much activity that, to double the terror, the hard disk light looked as though it had ceased to function, just one continuous red glow!
     
    davehc, Nov 14, 2018
    Trouble likes this.
  20. Saltgrass

    clifford_cooley

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,269
    Likes Received:
    244
    Location:
    Arkansas
    I've got too many machines to wait for them all to start downloading from WU. Sadly if I had the bandwidth to handle such congestion, I would wait. I'm just hanging tight a day or two making sure the other shoe doesn't drop and the release is fine to go.
     
    clifford_cooley, Nov 14, 2018
    Trouble likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.